Hello! Can’t believe it’s been so long since I last posted… the days seem to go by so quickly. 

As mentioned in my last post, I had to go to the hospital, and I had some blood tests done. They called me back several days later and informed me that I would have to go to the Dr’s and have a chat with him because it was shown that I have a low blood count. Low haemoglobin levels I think they said. Anyway, I had to go see the Dr and he said I would have to have ANOTHER couple of blood tests. Didn’t hurt too much this time, but I was still shaking like mad. He said that one sample would be sent to test the thyroids were working properly, and something to do with my stomach absorbing blood, I think. He reckons that I have been anaemic for quite a few years, but is puzzled as to how. (I am on the mini-pill which, for some people, stops periods almost completely). So, therefore, how am I losing this blood? Hmm, it’s a puzzle. Anyway, I have to take these iron tablets twice a day. (It says on the packet this is for severe anaemia, eeeek!). I believe I have more energy, and have only fallen asleep in the middle of the day two or three times since taking them. Everyone says under my eyes are a lot brighter too (I have very dark circles around my eyes almost constantly). I still have to wait for another three or so weeks before I can have another blood test and to see if I can have the operation. I’ve sort of come to terms that I have to have it now. I know I’m being a wimp, but I am absolutely terrified. Thankfully, I’ve watched a few Youtube videos of people after they have had it done, and what actually happens, and I’m actually not TOO bad about it. I know that if anything happens, then fair enough it happens, and I won’t know a thing about it. I don’t want to be on my own after the operation, but when I am left alone (when parents have gone home for the night) I need to decide what lovely things to do to keep me amused! Knitting, crocheting… spinning even? Maybe I will have a TV Card, you never know. As long as I have my mobile with me and my headphones I can at least listen to the radio. One thing I cannot stand is silence. At this precise moment I am listening to ‘Mrs Brown’s Boys.’ It’s a pretty good show… not the funniest, but still very watchable. 

I’ve been watching a lot of ‘Hell’s Kitchen’ lately, and been spinning to it. I got the most beautiful set of three merino wool top fleeces the other day so finally got round to spinning them. I got a cerise one, a sunshine one, and a forest green one. 

Image

Aren’t they lovely colours? I started working on the cerise (pink) one at the back, and it’s a pleasure to work with. They are all suposed to be one hundred grammes each, but when I weighed them, they were all over 150g! Brilliant deal, especially at only £3.00 each! And £2.50 for all three. I will def. buy from this company again. (Well, eBay seller). 

I split the fleece into half pieces, roughly into 75g each. Although I feel like I have been doing it for hours, I have still not even finished the first 75g. I feel like I am really getting my moneys worth. I love my little drop spindle to bits, I really do, but I would LOVE to have a spinning wheel. (Again, constantly checking eBay… when will one come up for sale that I can afford and that is near here?!). I saw someone had put on eBay, something called a kick spindle. I have never heard of this before, but when I checked it out, I thought it was a good idea. Here is a link to a Youtube Video of someone using one. 

Image

The bit on the toilet roll is what I have already spun so far. It got too heavy on the drop spindle, so I had to take it off. When I have finished with the rest of the fleece from that half, it will be wound on to the same toilet roll… that is, if my dog will let me! He goes crazy everytime I get that roll out. He feels it is his duty to chew every single toilet roll tube he finds in this house. (I swear, he goes to all the bins in the toilets in this house to check we haven’t thrown any away by ‘accident’ instead of giving them to him). 

I have seen a good idea of someone winding their spun yarn onto toilet rolls, sticking a knitting needle through them, and putting them in a shoebox together. This way, they roll at exactly the same time, and are not rolling all over the floor getting tangled. (As learnt the hard way…). 

I have changed my room around last week as I was getting a little bored with it. I turned my bed around so it was facing the other way, and that has made so much different, quite a lot more space. I have also taken most of my wool out of the cupboard and put into my glass-door book cupboard. (Minus the books, of course). I now have acrylic on top, wool and cotton in the middle, and packs of wool, plus cotton on the bottom. Of course, bits of it will be mixed up already, but still! Good try, and I love the look of it. Though, it is getting a little weird that the left door keeps on opening by itself. It’s like it’s trying to tempt me to use the wool! Talking of acrylic, I used up some of my stash! Finally! I made, using a Debbie Bliss pattern, a small shrug. I made it from purple and blue glitter acrylic. That sounds awful, doesn’t it? But it looks good, and I’m pleased with it. What do you think? 

Image

It looked kind of blue on my camera, but a little more purple on screen. I’m very happy with it. I had a few less stitches on the collar than it asked for, but it still worked out pretty well. Here is my beautiful model, Phillipa, modelling it. 

Image

I got her for Christmas in 2011. I think she is wonderful, but my boyfriend thinks she is a little creepy. I don’t care. I love her! I am looking for a brother for her, also on eBay. But I will get one eventually. Good things come to those who wait. (And I like getting things for super-cheap, so I wait for awesome bargains). 

I am going to start on some ‘thrummed mittens’ after I have completed this post. I have plenty of fleece to work these with, and I have never tried this way of knitting before. I do like to try new things! 

I went to the auctions again a couple of times in the last two weeks. Both were disappointing. I went to the job centre today so I missed out on todays auction. Dad managed to get some good books today (thank you Bookcase, for NOT being there) and some crockery. He is thinking of adding tea and coffee sales to his shop. Something really cheap, just to get the customers in. Maybe 30p a cup, not like the ridiculous £1.50+ they charge in Cafes. But yeah, job centre today was finally a break-through. I have been offered training at my local post office, which is lovely. I can learn some new skills, and have something to do with my time. Unfortunately, the job centre refuse to allow me this ‘free training,’ and told me that even though I am not getting paid for the training I would have my meagre benefits cut…. which obviously, I cannot afford. So, the post office had agreed to get me to work there, not just train there, for four hours a week so I can still claim and learn new skills. It’s very complicated and loads of useless information was thrown around. I completely and utterly agree with that woman that has been on the news lately, that Cait Reilly. I am disgusted that she was made to work in PoundLand after graduating University or face losing her benefit. These job centre people are not living in the real world. I was made to work in the job centre for four weeks. I’m a Primary teacher! Didn’t make a blind bit of difference to them. I only got my benefit money for that full time work. Sickening. Even if I had got paid minimum wage for those hours worked I would have made quite a bit. Urgh, it’s not worth moaning over is it, these things just don’t change. The Government is full of people who don’t live in the real world. They disgust me. Completely and utterly. 

Let’s talk of a few quick happy things before I end this post. I found this beautiful book in the dog shop charity shop a couple of days ago, and knew I HAD to have it. I ADORE Mr Men and Little Miss. I don’t have any of their little books, though I may start collecting them. I have their complete DVD set though. I know, I know, I’m almost 23, but honestly, I just adore their stories and their beautiful pictures. How is this not wonderful?! 

Image

What’s not to love? 

Image

I bought some cress the other day too, and I meant for me and my boyfriend to plant it together. Unfortunately we forgot about it whilst he was here, so I did it myself last night. I got some damp paper towel and laid the seeds out in a large K and a large A. I covered them up with more damp paper towels and left them on my window sill. I checked again today and they have already started to germinate. It’s amazing. 

Image

They are covered in a clear gunky stuff. I thought it was water at first, but now I’m not so sure, because it feels kinda gooey. I’m just going to leave them now and hope that they have germinated even more tomorrow! 

Image

Anyway, I think that is pretty much it for now. I’m going to go and get a massive up of tea in my big silver travel mug (keeps in hot for so long!), gather the items for my thrummed mittens, and keep on watching ‘Mrs Brown’s Boys.’ 

Here is a picture to keep you smiling. This little boy makes my day. I couldn’t do without him. I love you Freddy. 

Image

xXx Love Kais xXx 

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

