Hello again. 

It has been rather a while since I last posted and a few things have been going on since then. Let’s start from the beginning. 

The Glasgow SECC Craft and Stitch Fair – 8th March 2013 

This was AMAZING! I could not believe my eyes… I felt like I was in a most magical place. At first it all seemed a little overwhelming as there were waves and waves of people all clambering around small stalls. I felt a bit better after realising that all of us were there for the same reason and that most were in a good mood! Have you ever noticed those in a bad mood in crowded situations? They scowl and look miserable and don’t care who they bump into? Yep! Well, I didn’t meet anyone like that which was awesome! I was in that hall for THREE hours! THREE HOURS! F came in with me for about twenty minutes, which was lovely of him but he should have stayed a lot longer as he could have got some good bargains. He only came in to keep me company at the start which was lovely of him 🙂 But we did visit one sewing stall to find out the woman running it was the editor of the magazine that F had won a massive price from for his beautiful mock vintage dress coat. They had a little chat and it was wonderful for him to actually be known! He is getting on so well. I’m so proud of both of my brothers and their talents. 🙂 

Anyway, what did I see? We went down the first aisle at first and admired the  wonderful cross stitching and embroidery that someone had done. Such beautiful designs! I can cross-stitch, I mean, I don’t find it difficult, but a little bit fiddly at times. It makes my eyes ache a little, especially with the light I have in my bedroom. There were wonderful kits for sale too. The first few aisles were mainly sewing stuff, but there was a stall that did handmade shoes! These were lovely and reminded me of Victorian ankle boots. Very dainty with buttons down the side, with leather in purple and black. Expensive though! 

At the bottom of the hall there was a small cafe with people offering massages at the side of it (I refused when they asked me if I wanted one… I was so embarrassed at the thought!). There was a huge array of trestle tables which were crammed with people. At the other side of the bottom of the hall there was a small stage set up which every couple of hours a small fashion show was started. Let’s just say one woman on the stage (50+) got very much into her role! 

I found a wonderful stall all set up which had some beautiful Ashford spinning wheels on display. One woman showed me how they worked and they looked fairly simple so I now know that I do want one. They looked lovely and were soooo quiet to use! She didn’t seem to care that her spinning wasn’t all the same width though…. hmmm, maybe that’s my OCD coming out. I saw some new drop spindles too, but they were about £15 each, which would have been over half my budget. The same stall had some massive sacks of fleece and were selling them off at £3 per 50g bag. I got some Zwartbles black fleece. It’s mostly black with some brown edges. Very pretty. 

Image

In the white bag there is Angora Fur which I got from another stall. This is so soft and clean. I can’t wait to use this when I next spin something. I have been advised from several people,  and online, to use the angora WITH another wool, as it seems to be too fine to be used on its own. I got this from a needle felting stall. It was an interesting stall… but I dislike needle and wet felted pictures. To me, they just look a big mess of colours, and as for felting rocks… it seems a little daft. But the stall owners were lovely and sweet and very knowledgeable and told me all about Woolfest which I SO can’t wait for! (I go the day before I go to Blackpool… what an awesome way to start the holiday!!!!). 

There were loads of wonderful stalls with fairly cheap yarns there and I loved looking round them. People were selling bags of yarn for something like £35 a bag but it included all the chunky yarns needed to make a certain jumper, the needles and the pattern. Another stall at the entrance had a huge, and I mean HUGE, pile of wool on the floor. People were just picking up yarns and chucking them to the top of the pile and looking on the floor again. These were all good, decent yarns, e.g. Debbie Bliss, Sublime, Crofters, etc. They were pretty good prices for what yarns there were, but I didn’t have £20 to spend on a single pack of ten yarns so everything was out of my price range. I saw one woman but six or so packs of yarn! I dread to think how much that would have cost. I did, however, buy some ‘Creations Reflection’ yarn from there. 50g each for £2.99 each. Cheeky git charged me £6! I know it’s only 2p difference but still! 

I got some lovely, shiny red buttons from a stall that sold mostly Indian stuff and materials. They had two big baskets with everything £1 in them. Most of it was cheap, tacky looking gold buttons and so on, but I managed to dredge up what was at the bottom of the basket and grab myself a good set of buttons. 

The best stall I went to was by Abakhan. They have an online shop – worth a look. They were selling packs of things off for £5 a bag. Huge bags of ribbons, a pack of scrapbooking stuff (Decent stuff!) for £5 too. Bags of threads, material that was very cheap by the metre and the packs of yarn for great prices too! I got a beautiful set of ten yarns in a dark, dark blue with a glitter thread running through it for £7.99. The best bargain yet? I got THREE packs of ten balls each (30 altogether) for £6.98. Yep, you read that right, less than £7 for thirty balls of wool. If I had more cash I would have bought LOADS of packs of the stuff. 

All in all it was a very good few hours and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I got back to A’s on the train, checking out my purchases happily. I got a few looks from people. I look very young for my age, so people tend to find it a bit weird that I have an ‘old’ hobby. I’m twenty three (almost!) but do look about 16 most of the time. 

The rest of the week that I was at A’s was pretty good. We went to his College friends party on the Saturday which was ok. I would have loved it if me and A had got up and danced but I was so shy about doing it, and he didn’t offer. Shame, haha. We sort of did some movements in our chairs, haha, but wasn’t quite the same. I knew I had had enough to drink after me and him sang ‘Grease’ to one another AND the arm movements when it was playing there. Sadly he managed to get a quite bad flu whilst I was there and I spent a couple of days looking after him. I did some spinning whilst he stayed in bed, and I managed to spin a small skein of just 27 yards from some fleece I found on a hedge. (We were driving past one day and saw this massive clump of fleece stuck to the hedge. I got out and took it, stuffed it in a bag and took it home. I combed it out, spun it, washed it, and there you go! I was so pleased). I also finished a small pair of blue and yellow socks (now on my baby doll). We visited a charity shop on one of the days and in there, on a high chair was a doll I had wanted to get for ages! A Smoby Roby boy doll. I thought ‘fantastic!’ But when I got closer, it was £10! I didn’t plan on spending that much on a second hand doll so let pretty disappointed. A kept threatening to go back and get it if I didn’t cheer up, but I held me ground and refused to pay that much for a second hand doll. On the last night I was there we watched ‘The Macpherson Files.’ I enjoyed the film, it was very good, very creepy, but a good watch. I don’t know how I managed to sleep! I’m a real wimp usually. The next morning I woke up feeling dreadful. I was sick about 5am and got back into bed, hoping to sleep it off as I had to walk A to the bus stop the next morning. He got up and woke me about ten to eight to get ready. I was so sick again, and staggered back to the room. He took one look at me and ordered me back into bed. He had the day off College (to my dismay – he needs to stop missing days) to look after me, which I did appreciate. He put the telly on for me, made me drinks and got me cold flannels. (He even emptied the sick bucket – how much true love is that?!). However, when I did fall asleep I would wake up to find he had turned the TV right round and was playing some xBox game loudly. I didn’t mind… I enjoy watching them, but don’t tell him that! 

It was sad saying goodbye at the train station when I finally had to go because he had to go to Germany on the Sunday! We gave each other a massive hug and kiss and then we parted ways. I miss him loads already. I had a little cry on the train – what a baby I am. 

I don’t think the next week was too eventful. I had to go to some stupid jobseekers meeting as I have been unemployed for six months. What a complete waste of time that was. Four out of ten people turned up. I hope they get their benefits cut, because I was told that is what would happen if I didn’t turn up. It was such a farce. They asked us what jobs we were looking for. The others all stated like one or two jobs each, but when she asked me she made me give her three jobs! I mean, I am a Primary Teacher. I am looking only for teaching jobs. Then she asked for another, so I said… TEFL teacher. She sort of narrowed her eyes and wrote it on the board, then asked me what else? I said that’s it, that is what I am trained for. She wrote down admin assistant from my stupid job form. Yeah, cos’ I trained for four years to do some typing. (Apologies to anyone who does Admin). She asked me what could they do to help. I said, ‘finding the actual jobs, and giving work experience.’ They wrote all these things down, but I have heard NOTHING back… what a surprise. Just gets me so mad! 

Had a blood test on Friday too. It was over in seconds. I barely managed to utter the words ‘I’m a wimp,’ before the nurse had jabbed the needle in and out! Why they couldn’t have done it that quickly before, I don’t know. I still don’t know the results, but I am waiting for the letter to come from the hospital to say when I can have the operation. 

Here is a picture of the knitting I have been doing. I adore the book I got the pattern from. It is an oldish book, from WHSmith, and it’s just fantastic… I’ve knitted a few things from in here. 

Image

It is made from Cashmere Sublime Silk Mix and Jaeger Merino 50%. Lovely feel to it, and lovely to knit. I frogged most of the red yarn from a previous project I just did not finish and didn’t want to keep going with it. This way it has been put to good use! 

Image

Here is the results of what I got from the Sew and Sew the other day. King Cole Chunky Riot in the blue and orange …. so soft! Was £1.50 a ball. And the Sublime… wait for it…. was £2 a ball! Love it 😀 I haven’t touched the red one yet, working through the frogged yarn first. 

Oh, in the top photo, with the spindles, the larger one was made for me the other day by someone at my Mums work. It is a massive spindle, but it should do the trick… just need to have a go on it! 

I had a good day yesterday. I managed to get a Smoby doll on eBay for £3.20 plus postage so was very happy. It is a boy doll called Roby. (Row-bee). He is perfect with straightish hair, and clean clothes. I immediately dressed him in a smart little cream jumper and a pale yellow hat with a bobble on top and placed him next to Phillipa. 

Then today I was randomly checking FB and for some reason checked the selling pages that I was part of. The second post was selling THREE Smoby dolls for £20! Couldn’t believe it! I immediately messaged the seller for the lowest price and she said I could have all three for £15. She had only had the post up for nine minutes! What was even luckier was that she lived just down the road from me! I grabbed my wellies and my younger brother (company and security!) to come with me and I picked up my lovely large dolls. One boy and two girls. All beautiful. I had a small bag of accessories to go with them too. This I didn’t care about but when I looked in the bag there were some cute things. But these dolls are to dress up in the things I knit so I feel like I have more of a purpose to knit, rather than ‘just for the baby I am going to have in the future.’ I now have a row of dolls on the sofa, look. 

Image

 

Yes, one of them is sitting on my knitting! Cheeky, huh?! It took me ages to sort out the hair and get it into half manageable bunches. The blonde doll had hers in a ponytail and the brunette had hers in plaits at the sides of her head. 

Here they are looking so sweet and smart in their knitted gear. 

Image

 

Names L-R: Phillipa (original, got her for Christmas), Roby (got yesterday), Sadie, Sammy and Robin. 

Love them to bits, but this is going to freak out anyone who hates dolls! (Like my boyfriend, ahahhahahhahahha). I know I must appear silly and childish but you know what? I don’t care, I love what I love and I love my hobbies. I don’t care what others think. 🙂 Life is too short to give a damn what others think. 

Anyway, I am shattered, it’s been a long day today. Besides getting my dolls I helped out in a charity shop for a few hours, fought my way through a snow blizzard (no joke, it hurts! Snow hurtling into your ears and eyes actually hurts! I still don’t think that it has stopped snowing, but more gently this time), went for a long walk to collect these dolls, tidied my room and then completed this huge blog! 

Have a nice day/night. 

xXx Love Kais xXx 

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

