Managed to get my wool order this morning – yay! The rather bemused postie handed my mother a large white sack with our morning mail. This contained my wool, yayayyayayay! 

I opened the sack eagerly and there was a massive pile off fluff. Amazing. 1.5KG’s of white Cheviot wool tops. I weighed it, and there was actually 2.5kg’s altogether, so even better. It took me a little while to sort half of it into mini 50g balls ready for the dyeing, but it was a simple process I enjoyed.

Image

I put some into soak whilst I got the dyes and all that ready. 

I got the cling film ready, along with the kool-aid dyes, microwavable plates and bowls. I found an old syringe in the cupboard for the dyes so I tried that out too. And then the fun began! 

Unfortunately, I don’t have any photos of the actual dyeing process. But I have plenty of the results. 

Image

I did four random colours (those in the bowls). I did two different types of rainbows (same colours, but different ways of holding the roving). Same colours, but such different results! I adore the purples in the wool; this is the black cherry kool-aid. I also love the way the colours just merge in with one another. Well, I managed to get twelve done tonight, and it didn’t take too long at all. I managed to stain the worktops with it too, oops! 

Image

Once the wool had cooled down enough from the microwave, I slipped off the cling film and gently slid the wool into the sink of hot water. The colours always seem so much warmer and brighter in the water. 

Image

Again, I just love the way the colours merge together. When I take it out the water, I give it a quick squeeze to get most of the water out, and put it on a baking tray to rest for a moment whilst I rinse out the others. 

Image

The colour seems to fade quite a bit when they have had the water squeezed out, but they seem to come back once dry! 

Once I had rinsed and squeezed each one I hung them up over the clothes horse in the conservatory. I hope they dry fairly quickly, and in there they will be out of the way. Just a bummer I haven’t anywhere else to dry the fleece. I haven’t started washing it yet as I need the space to dry it! 

Image

12 lovely pieces of roving all ready and dyed. Lovely. 

Right, I’m off to bed now, me and Fred are going to snuggle up and listen to ‘Filthy, Rich and Catflap.’ (It’s a programme from the early eighties, late seventies starring Rik Mayall, Ade Edmondson and Nigel Planer. I love ANYTHING with these guys in it, especially Rik Mayall. I love that man…). 

Image

Freddy and his sheepy 🙂 You can tell he is my dog, can’t you? ❤ 

xXx Love Kais xXx 

6 thoughts on “

  1. Looks like fun! I love to dye yarn and fibers, too. Are these for your personal use, or are you planning on selling them? I’m new to spinning so it’s fascinating to see it transform into yarn.

    Thanks for commenting on my spindle blogpost!
    Patricia

  2. Thanks for commenting! Yeah, these ones will be for sale eventually. I am having a small stall at a fiber festival type thing so I will be selling them on there. First time I have ever dyed anything to sell, so pretty nervous and hope they are good enough! Oh, I love spinning. First time I ever spun on a wheel was March this year, and a drop spindle I think was late last year. So addictive!

  3. Nice job on the dyeing! I just ordered my first drop spindle, and I can’t wait to try it. I’ve been wanting to learn to spin for about a year, but have been distracted by other projects. Then I got some roving for a thrummed slipper project I’ve been working on, and just learning to draft it was pure joy… so I knew I couldn’t put it off any longer. We’ll see if it’s as much fun as I think it’s going to be. 🙂

    • Ooh, you will love it! It’s a little fiddly at first, but once you get the hang of it, it’s so addictive, and easy! Welcome to another world of wool – lots and lots of fiber, it’s great! Soon, you will want to start preparing your own fibre, straight from the sheep. I did! Put up a blog post of how it goes, I’d love to see your first results. 😀

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

