Post 2 – continued due to photos not uploading on other post!

I read a little e-book today about spinning silk. Well, I skim read it, and decided to have a go. Last time I spun silk it was so thin, it was just not enjoyable. And it was plain white. A while ago, I dyed some of my silk hankies and thought that these would be nice to try tonight. I tried to spin them as fairly thin singles, to play into a dk weight.

First of all, I checked out what colour of hanky I would like to try…

Image

I decided on the ones in the middle, the darkish ones. I split these up into the thinnest hankies I could.

Image

You should be able to see right through them. (I dyed these with kool-aid too, if anyone is wondering). They looked super dark together, but when they are split up, they become paler. You then take one hanky, and tear a hole in the middle. You then pull this hole wider, until you reach the edges of the hanky. Then you pull it a bit more, until it is as thin as you want to spin it, just like drafting wool. You can then pull the hanky apart, so you have one long, continuous piece of roving. (Warning, if you have even the slightest bit of dry skin on your hands, or a pulled bit of you nail, the silk WILL catch onto it – guaranteed!)

SAM_1192

I really like how the colours thin themselves out, but merge so beautifully together. This produced a really gorgeous candy cane striped yarn. Once you have predrafted it, attach it to the spindle, just as you would with any normal wool.

SAM_1195

Then happy spinning!

 

SAM_1196

I love the effect of the colours twisting together.

SAM_1199

One full spindle. I then Andean plyed it quickly, and skeined it up using my board.

SAM_1204

 

Voila! Sorry about the horrible photo quality, but I just do not seem to be able to take nice photos using lamp light. I will try and get a better one tomorrow. But I can tell you that it is soft, squishy and sooo smooth! I just love the colours. This photo doesn’t give it justice.

Anyway, I might go try out some more silk spinning before I go to bed.

Night night all,

xXx Love Kais xXx

2 thoughts on “

    • Thank you 😀 I love the colours in the first set of hankies I spun, they were kool-aid dyed. However, I did try some with food colouring, and it just all washed out! I am planning on buying some more hankies from Wingham Wools. I think they are £7.20 for 100g, which is an awful lot. I’ve got 50g and it’s a huge amount here! Please do try, the yarn you will produce is like amazing! 😀

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

