Hello everyone. I know I’ve been posting a lot recently, but well, things aren’t seemingly going quite well for me at the moment, and it’s a way to escape thinking about things. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I realised that we have had the chickens just over three months now and I thought before and after photos of the chickens would be a nice idea. For those of you who don’t know, I have three chickens and they were given to me as rescue hens. Previously they were battery hens. I’m not going into the ins and outs of batteries, but I hate them with a passion and cannot fathom why such cruel places exist. So, before I got my beautiful girls, their lives were hell on Earth, basically. Now they have a lovely yard to run about and play in, places to dig, places to sun themselves, a lovely large coop with plenty of space, and as much food and drink and treats as they want. They are spoilt rotten and they deserve every bit of it.

We have Donna, Rose and Sarah-jane. All named after Dr Who companions in case you didn’t know. ๐Ÿ™‚

Some of the photos might be a bit … urgh, but the photos I will show you are of the first couple of days we had them, all the way up to today.

Well, starting with Donna.

SAM_0524

She was the only one without missing feathers when we got her. Donna in Dr Who is a fairly mouthy companion, loud, rude and brash. Likes to get on with things and always first in line. This name suits this Donna perfectly. She was the first one to explore her coop, the first one to go straight for the food… the first one to escape! First one to get into the kitchen, haha. That horrible pink tag on her leg was taken off instantly. She is noisy and likes to walk around you, she isn’t afraid of anything. When Freddy goes near her, like today, she just pecks at him, making the poor dog jump! I think she had been out a month or less when we were given her.

This is here today –

SAM_1245

She looks like she has lost a little bit of weight, but I think she doesn’t have her feathers fluffed up as much as the other photo. When she is annoyed she shakes her tail feathers, haha. Gorgeous girl ๐Ÿ™‚ So naughty too… she got on top of the shed roof a while ago… ๐Ÿ˜€

Ok, the next chicken is Rose. Now, Rose had very few feathers when we got her. A very scrawny chicken. These photos aren’t too nice at first, but they get better.

SAM_0523

SAM_0520

She had very bare wings, no feathers on her chest, or on her bum area. Her head had hardly any feathers at all either. Her tail feathers were just meh too. When we got her she was so shy, so scared and she just stayed in her coop for a little while, just terrified. She had only been taken from the battery place a couple of days before we got her, so she must have been so scared of all the new things happening.

This is only about a month or so later.

SAM_0554

Her feathers had taken a little while to start sprouting, but then they all sort of came up at once! Here she is with her new, soft, under feathers. As you can see, she isn’t bothered by Freddy in the slightest. None of them are. They even walk underneath him! Rose was the quiet one, but now she is the one who also gets in trouble for being naughty! She has started jumping up places, and trying to get into the kitchen. She likes being cuddled and will sit on your lap enjoying being stroked. She sort of half closes her eyes and tucks her neck in, like she is roosting. It’s so lovely to see.

And the final transformation? It’s stunning, honestly. Here is Rose, this photo only taken half an hour ago.

SAM_1254 SAM_1242

 

Complete with all her feathers, looking fat and beautiful. The feathers are soooo soft!

The last but not least chicken is Sarah-Jane. She hasn’t changed tooo much since getting her. Sadly her feathers seem so dry still, and her skin is just quite poor and flaky. If you go into their coop there is loads of tiny white bits on the floor, which I think is her flaky skin coming off! We have tried some various creams, and have poultry spice so hopefully something will work for her.

SAM_0521

Bit difficult to see but you get the idea. You can see on her back she is completely bare!

SAM_0518

Well, thankfully that has now changed! Sarah-Jane was quite forward at first, even though she had only been out perhaps a couple of days too. I think she was in the same rescue as Rose. She isn’t very shy, and will go up to you, but isn’t as forward as Donna, and now Rose. She likes to watch what is going on, and prefers to see the others try new food before she does. She does like sitting sunning herself and spreads all her wings out to keep warm. She also likes being cuddled, and will half close her eyes in enjoyment. She purrs too!

SAM_1249

Here she is today. As you can see, her feathers aren’t as nice as they perhaps could be, but as long as she is warm and happy, I think she will be ok ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is a picture of what her back looks like now.

SAM_1252

The soft looking brown feathers are her new ones. She seems to have lots of feather bits poking through, but most of these fall out, are pecked out, or are so dry they just don’t last. I doubt very much her tail feathers will ever come up properly either. She has some more feathers growing on her front too which is good, as that was completely bare too.

I love this next picture of Rose and Sarah-Jane.

946322_10202053236398786_1958855056_n

They look so content! Sarah-Jane actually did sleep for a while, she was so warm and cosy. Donna didn’t want to go in, and was quite happy staying in the coop.

Anyway, I’d better go just now, better make sure they are all behaving themselves! Hope everyone has a great day, and I’d love to know if anyone else has chickens?

Byyeeeeeee!

xXx Love Kais xXx

 

9 thoughts on “

  1. Very nice chickens ๐Ÿ™‚
    I used to have both chickens and ducks. We had about 50 in the end…but the time it took to look after them got too much, so we had to give them away.
    Our chickens used to love rolling in the dust as a way to get rid of any mites. Not sure…but I thought that might help sarah-jane.

    Goodluck!

    • Wow, I imagine 50 would be a lot to look after! We used to have more chickens and some ducks, and geese, when we lived in Orkney. Sarah-Jane loves rolling round in the dirt, she has a little patch just by the gate where she loves scratching up things and rolling round – can’t get her out of it sometimes! We did get some mite spray, I might have to start using it again soon. Thanks for your comment! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Oh, I’m so glad they are doing so well!!! They look and sound like such sweet girls. Before I had chickens, I had no idea that they could have so much personality! How wonderful that you are able to give them such a happy, healthy home… they definitely deserve it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you so much ๐Ÿ˜€ I was the same, thought that chickens were all the sameish, but nope! These girls are so distinctive, so cheeky! Everyone who sees them loves them. ๐Ÿ˜€
      Oh, and you were asking how Saffy was the other day, she died this morning. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ She was very unwell, but looked like she died in her sleep. xxx โค

      • Oh no! I’m so sorry about Saffy. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ No wonder you aren’t doing very well. I was going to ask, but I didn’t want to pry into your personal life. I’m glad she passed peacefully, but still… no fun to lose the ones we love. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • It’s fine to ask. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think me and my bf are splitting up too. He sort of told me out of the blue the other night that he isn’t sure he wants to keep going. Pretty devastated really. I’ve given him a week to decide what he wants to do, but if he decides to split then it’s final. No second chances. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I just had pretty big plans together, and I thought he did too. He has been pretty stressed out lately with College and work and all that, and not sleeping, so I just hope when he finally gets sleep and himself sorted he can see what an idiot he is being. I hope so anyway! x

      • I’m so sorry! You are definitely getting it from all sides right now. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hang in there! Relationships always have their ups and downs, but it sounds like you have a healthy perspective. Just being OK with letting him do what he needs to do is huge… I’m sure he doesn’t deserve you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. The girls look wonderful such a difference to see the before and after pictures. I hope Sarah-Jane continues to improve for you. I never thought of chickens as having personalities but then I’ve never really thought about it but it makes sense.

    • Thanks for your comment ๐Ÿ˜€ Yes, these three are certainly a bunch of characters. They are so amusing and give us a lot of joy, even just watching them about their daily business never fails to make me smile ๐Ÿ™‚

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

