Hello again, another blog post! My eighty first! I wonder if I shall get to one hundred before the end of the year? We shall see.

Can hear the fireworks going off at the moment and they are driving me nuts! Terrified they will upset Freddy. But no, I’ve got up to have a look at the fireworks with Mum, and he sits by the window to watch them too! Does anyone elses pets do that?

Image

So, today I tidied up my room… (well, sort of quick tidy up so nothing is on the floor…) and decided to do some spinning. I found out some of my luxury fibres and decided to spin 100g of superfine llama top. Very soft, very hairy, very floaty.

Image

I tried to predraft this as much as possible. But due to it being so super fine it was very floaty, and didn’t draft as well as I’d hoped. I pulled it into the smallest strips I could managed, and simply drafted from them.

Image

It looks like I’ve yanked out someones hair!

Here is my first attempt at spinning it. Very smooth, and easy to spin. It took a good few minutes to get the brake band to the correct grip for some reason. I have changed it to fishing line wire, and I don’t think I’ve attached it properly. I’ll have to have a good look at that.

Image

Fairly thick singles again, but they look fairly even I think. Here it is plyed…

Image

And here is the whole thing, skeined up and ready to use.

Image

I never know how long the wool actually is. I only ever know the weight, because I’m too lazy to actually figure out the yardage/ meterage, etc. It never bothers me anyway.

I’ve got some cashmere that I need to try out next. Vuchickens (sorry, not sure how to link!!) has been spinning some gorgeous stuff, and I’ve been super jealous :p So, I found out some stuff I had been given and thought I would have a little go.

I’m going to now go and watch ‘Nighty Night’ on DVD, listen to fireworks (yawn) and do a bit more knitting.

Night night everyone!

xXx Love Kais xXx

2 thoughts on “

  1. The llama looks interesting and it does look tricky to spin. Just curious why you changed to fishing line? I find my tension is really finicky on my Bliss. I can barely put tension on it before it seems to be ripping the single out of my hands. I don’t know if it’s me or if that’s the way it’s supposed to be? Anyhow plying up some purples singles now. I’m not too sure about plying on the Bliss as I’ve only done it a few times so I guess I’ll have to see how this skein turns out. Distracted by looking after grandkids this weekend when all I wanted to do was spin but they’re only little once and the spinning will always be there.

  2. What were the fireworks for? Was it a holiday there this weekend? My animals want nothing to do with fireworks, so that’s very cute that your dog likes to watch them. That llama looks gorgeous!!! Very nicely spun too. 😉 Is it similar to Alpaca? It does look like human hair drafted out, especially because of the color. I’ll have to try it sometime. Do you know what you’re going to make with it? I can’t wait to see your cashmere!!! 🙂

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

