Merry Christmas everyone! Hope everyone has had a great day and an awesome dinner. I am stuffed.  Happy and full and smiley. Last night I spent quite a bit of time working on the teddy bear I said that I wished to start.

I gathered up all of the equipment I needed. This was the pattern itself (which was already cut out), pins, and the fabric. A huge two metre bolt of it.

SAM_1675

We pinned each of the pieces onto the fabric quickly and easily.

SAM_1676

It didn’t take too long to cut each piece out. Very soon we had a neat pile of teddy bear pieces.

SAM_1677

We didn’t realise that some pieces had to be pinned backwards when it said that there needed to be two pieces of the piece. Might sound a daft mistake to those who do sew, but I’ve never done this before. We just took away the extra pieces we had made, and put them into another bag, in case we make another teddy. Then we pinned the traced pieces properly until we had everything we needed.

Instead of sewing up the teddy straight away, I had a play around with the pieces to see how they worked together. I was really pleased with how it looked. Here it is below, minus ears, soles, eyes, nose and paws. It’s pinned the best I could at the time, and I can’t wait to see what it is like when sewn up. His name is simply ‘Teddy.’

SAM_1678

I think he is going to be quite sweet when finished. I really enjoyed the process, and I can see myself doing this a lot if all works well. Unfortunately BOTH of the sewing machines we own are not working correctly. One is a really old metal one which seems pretty stiff and doesn’t move much, and the other newer one (I saw newer, it looks newer) just won’t sew a thing. I am thinking of buying a simple, smaller machine of my own. Just a little one I can have on a table that doesn’t take ages to set up.

SAM_1709

Here is what I unwrapped from my little brother this morning. It was one of those snuggly blankets, you know, the kind where there is arms at the front and a long blanket bit at the bottom? Like a back to front dressing gown basically! Well, he got me a pink one and a blue one. This is what he scratched out and wrote on the front of the box. My family know me so well!

I’ll write more later about what I got. I’ll leave you with some gorgeous photos of Freddy. He enjoyed Christmas more than anyone else!

SAM_1743

SAM_1724

SAM_1713

Nighty night everyone, have a great night.

xXx Love Kais xXx

2 thoughts on “

  1. Cute bear!!! I can’t wait to see it finished. That furry fabric looks so soft. 🙂 And Freddie looks like he had a blast… that soccer ball doesn’t look like it’s going to make it very far. My lab always used to like to open presents too… and subsequently destroy them. I miss her every Christmas, and the delight she took in opening up her treats.

    • Freddy had an amazing time, I think he had the best time out of all of us! You’re completely right of course, that ball didn’t last for very long at all. It’s now a half circle of rubbery plastic, but he seems to enjoy it carrying it round! Your labrador sounds wonderful, very similar to Freddy. When he gets his present he sort of runs round with them, and ‘shows them off’ to everyone he sees. 😀
      That fabric is amazingly soft! I just hope it is easy enough to sew with on a machine. It’s not too thick, so it shouldn’t be too bad. It looks not too bad pinned at the moment, it probably won’t even look like a bear when I’ve finished it! Happy Boxing Day!

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

