Hello everyone, how are you all today?

I’ve been super busy these past few days. I finished my first ever quilt, and I went straight onto the next one! I was looking at pictures of simple quilts online and I came across this one –

http://myquiltinfatuation.blogspot.co.uk/2013/09/easy-peasy-chevron-quilt-tutorial.html

I was infatuated immediately and knew that that was the one I had to make next. I searched my room for all the scraps of material I had, and I found loads more than I thought. Some old fat quarters I had bought a good while ago, some scraps of material my brother had given me, and just bits and pieces hoarded over the years.

I started off with tracing squares onto each piece of material, four squares in each piece. Each square was roughly 7″ around. I cut out sooooooooo many! I started off with only four pieces of material to see how it turned out, and was pleased with what I started.

As it was a chevron pattern I needed to do something a bit different with the fabric rather than cutting out billions of mini pieces to sew together. Instead I got two different fabrics and placed them FACE to FACE with each other and sewed round the edges.

SAM_1937

Sounds odd, but it works. I did this for all the squares. Lots and lots and lots of them!

SAM_1940

Each piece needs to be cut into four pieces, corner to corner. I haven’t got a rotary cutter, so I used scissors. I found it difficult to cut them straight across, so I folded them in half, and ironed them to get a really good crease. I then cut them in half, then each piece in half again.

SAM_1951

Lots of lovely quarters!

SAM_1953

I then opened each triangle out and ironed them flat. These will connect together to make the chevrons.

SAM_1941

I then placed them out on the floor exactly where I wanted them.

SAM_1944

I pinned the squares together in their row order and then trimmed off all the mini edges. That took a while – look at all these squares!

SAM_1961

I then had the unenviable task of sewing each row together. It didn’t take as long as I thought, but my wrist/lower arm is aching from the angle I had my arm at. I had to sew 16/17 rows with eight squares in each.

SAM_1969

These were then put back into order, and then slowly sewn together row by row. Pin, stitch, pin, stitch.

SAM_1973

And here is the finish quilt top! Well, not quite finished, I ran out of material. But this is the main part of the quilt, the focus point. I plan on doing stripes round the sides of this piece. Not too sure what colours, but I’ll find something. I’m so pleased with it. I thought this would be super hard, but it wasn’t, just a little tedious and fiddly at times. I plan on making this the size of a double bed so I can snuggle under it. Maybe I’ll sew a little label saying hand made on the back of it 😀

Here are the obligatory close ups.

Close ups

I love the cream one with the roses on it.

We were all very crafty in the household last night. I was quilting, Dad was painting his wargaming figures and Mum was doing her cross stitching. Mums cross stitching is stunning.

All crafty

Whilst I was quilting this afternoon Freddy came and lay on the floor next to me, playing with his football. I looked down at him and saw this …

SAM_1962

Don’t think he could decide which one he wanted! Either that or he didn’t want anyone else to play with his rugby ball, haha.

Anyway, I’ve got work tomorrow! These holidays don’t seem to last long. Oh, got a Dr’s appointment tomorrow too, as my ear is STILL playing up. Gone a bit deaf in my right ear and its been like that for two weeks now. Not sure why, but maybe it’s an infection or something. At least it isn’t sore *fingers crossed!!!*

Have a great night everyone.

xXx Love Kais xXx

 

8 thoughts on “

    • Thank you 😀 It really is just a massive mix up of all kind of fabric I found in the house. Yeah, my ear is being a real pain at the moment. It’s buzzing in my right ear and it is so, so, so frustrating like you wouldn’t believe 😦 Nothing will stop it, so I’m hoping that the Dr will give me something to clear up whatever is causing it. It’s just constant noise and the only way to stop it irritating is to have other noise in the background like the telly. Urgh! Have a great day!

  1. Even better than your first one! Love the mix of different patterns and colours, and the way you’ve arranged them almost makes it look like they match! And funny you should say about your ear. I’ve had a similar problem with deafness and thought it was an infection, but it just turned out to be a build up of wax. I’ve been on ear drops for a week now and it’s cleared up a bit, but definitely isn’t perfect yet. I hope it all turns out fine for you! And keep quilting, they’re awesome. 😀

    • Thank you so much 😀 What a lovely thing to say! I thought the match was pretty random but it doesn’t actually look too bad :p Yeah, this ear thing sucks. I’ve started to get a ringing noise in my right ear too, and it’s been there constantly and driving me nuts! I have to have sound playing on my laptop all the time or I hear it. Thank goodness I have the Dr’s in an hour. Tried ear drops but I don’t think it’s a build up, they made not a blind bit of difference 😦 Can’t wait to get the back and more strips for my quilt, it’s a real buzz to keep doing it. 😀

  2. I love this newest quilt you are doing such a fabulous job on it and it looks lovely. Sorry to hear about your ear, make sure you get it checked out you sound like you’re getting some tinnitus with the ringing. I don’t know if you are on any medication for colds or anything but some meds can affect your ears so make sure you check them out as you don’t want any permanent damage. Don’t want to sound alarmist but I picked up some tinnitus myself from some antibiotic I was sensitive too and it hasn’t gone away. Asprin can cause ringing in the ears for example but usually it goes away. Because you have both ears with ringing it’s probably a cold or sinus infection that’s causing it so should go away when the infection clears.

    • Thank you! I’m really enjoying this quilt. 😀
      Urgh, my stupid ears :p Went to the Dr yesterday and he said that my right one was bunged up completely with catarrh and that was causing the problem. He has given me some decongestant tablets so heres hoping they start to make a difference. The noise is driving me mad! Never had this before so it’s been very odd. Yeah, I have a cold too, have done for about a month. They always last a long, long time with me. I haven’t been able to breathe out of my nose for about a month either. I hope that clears up with the ear!

  3. it’s lovely! I can’t believe you’re new to this. If you are making another, I’d seriously recommend a rotary cutter, they’re invaluable. The trick you used for doing the HSTs (half square triangles) is actually a tip used by lots of quilters so it’s fab that you figured that one out for yourself so quickly!

    • Aww, thank you! 😀 I’ve been looking at a few rotary cutters, and the only thing that puts me off is the price. Mind you, if I continue to keep cutting out squares I’m going to go nuts! Think I’ll be buying one next time I go to HobbyCraft 😀 Thanks for commenting.

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

