Hello, it’s been a while!

Been pretty busy the last few weeks as you can imagine with school, etc. But anyway, on with the post!

What do you think of this beautiful butterfly?

Butterfly

This cheeky chap was in my bedroom when I came home the other day. He crawled across my school books, and onto the laptop. I managed to pick him up and take this beautiful close up photo. You can see the powder on his wings and the vibrant colours, and every single tiny hair. Just makes me smile. I’m tempted to get a big version of this and pin it up in my classroom.

A couple of weeks ago Mother and I went to the SECC Creative Stitches and HobbyCraft show in Glasgow! 😀 It was soooooooooo much fun. We were there from about 11am ish, and didn’t leave until well after 3pm. It was huge! I was a teeny bit disappointed that there was only one stall on spinning, but it’s not a massive ‘thing’ over here so I’m not really surprised. There was loads of fabric stalls, cross stitching stalls and lots and lots of wool! I remember a lot of the same stalls from last year and a lot of the same faces too. In the HobbyCraft section of the show was lots of fabric and more card-making stalls. And some interesting bits and pieces in between.

What we found amazing was the whole of the knitted and crocheted displays. These were just stunning. I took so many photos but I’m not able to put them all up here. Our favourite was the Craftwell Village.

Craftwell Village

Aren’t all of these so sweet!

These three below are some of my particular favourites.

Craftwell2

I’m sure you can see why. There were also displays on seasons, and other things, e.g. dragons, fantasy creatures, withces and wizards, etc.

Knitting

The Autumn scene looks so beautiful!

This one is another favourite of mine. A completely knitted Mother and Child. Idyllic.

Mother and Baby

You can see a mini leprechaun behind the chair :p Quite apt for St Patricks Day today!

I bought a few things at the craft show and Mum bought some bits and pieces for my birthday. (I’m 24 next week!)

What else has been happening then?

Chickens

Chickens are doing fine, cheeky and naughty as usual! We have given them some extra space, but for some reason they escape even more! The amount of times I have to go hunting for them in the garden. (Especially Donna, the one on the right!)

I’m sure you’re wanting to know how the puppy is doing!! Freddy and him are getting on very, very well now, if Freddy being a little whingy when Alfie gets too bitey, but you can’t blame him for that really. He is getting naughty however (Freddy) for trying to jump on my lap whenever Alfie tries to bite him! Very naughty when I’m sewing or holding a cup of tea!

Dogs

Oh, I had such a drama with Freddy last week! I came home at lunch time (just a quick visit to let them out before I went back to work) and he started choking and couldn’t breathe. He sounded like he was being sick, but even worse than normal. He looked pretty distressed and I was hysterical. He stopped after a minute of me trying to calm him down, but everytime he seemed to ‘get back to normal’ he started this choking again. I phoned the vets frantically saying that my dog is choking, what do I do?! They told me to get him to the vets straight away, but thankfully when I got there he had stopped coughing mostly. They gave him a good check over and found out that he had a bit of a throat infection which had caused him to have the hideous choking sounds. He also had a rather uncomfortable temperature check (!) and an injection, as well as being given antibiotics to take home. He has been fine since. One cough the day after and that’s it. He didn’t half scare me though I can tell you. I was panicking. I was on my own too so I had to shove Alfie back in his cage and leave him to take Freddy out. I ended up missing the rest of school but they were very understanding about it and I will make up the time a bit later on.

Misc

I made a LEGO house whilst at my brothers and A made a LEGO heart to put on top 😀 How sweet!

I love these carders on the right. Mum picked them up from a car boot sale for £2. £2!!! They are a bit rusty but absolutely fine apart from that. Someone on Ravelry suggested cleaning them with very fine wire wool, and then waste fleece and that should clean them up a bit. I never see anything to do with spinning when out and about and this month I have seen or heard of three pairs of carders! One pair that I have, one very old, very poor condition set in the ‘The Barras’  in Glasgow, and one in the auction. Anyone ever been to the Barras? Very… interesting place, let’s put it that way. Not somewhere I would go on my own, that’s for sure…

I’ve been working on my quilt a little, and put a large border around the wavy lines. The colours don’t quite match but I like them.

Sewing

The photo on the left shows what I got from the stitch show. Apart from the mini blue bolt one. A bought me that when we went to HobbyCraft a month or so ago. That’s what I used to border the zig zag blanket.

I saw someone online had made a fabulous star quilt. I really wanted to have a go at making one too, so I cut some squares out of old pillow cases I had found in a charity shop. I think it makes quite a pleasing design! I’m not sure what fabric the blue is, but it seems to go fairly well, and I love the green corners matching the brightest star points. Now I need to figure out what to put around the rest of it. Same with the other quilt. I will use the three co-ordinating fabrics in the left picture to make another quilt too, but I’m not too sure yet what it will be like. I do love the look of square quilts, but maybe I should be a little more adventurous…?

The Cath Kidston look alike fabrics at the bottom of the left are made up of lots of little squares. I’m thinking about just sticking them onto some wadding and a backing fabric and simply stitching around each square to make them puff out a little. We shall see! I’m not too have them until my birthday anyway so I have to wait, haha. I ADORE the chicken fabric! Noooooo idea what to make with this though! I also bought a rotary cutter which I sliced my left index finger with almost straight away. Ouchies! Mum bought me a couple of quilting books from the car boot too which I’m going to look at in a minute with a nice cup of hot chocolate. Mmm.

What has everyone else been up?

Anyway, I’d better go just now. It’s almost half past eight and I fancy getting into bed with those books and a cuddle up with Freddy.

xXx Love Kais xXx

2 thoughts on “

  1. Nice blog post Kais, thanks for sharing the photos. I’m wishing you a Happy Birthday now so I don’t miss it. I hope you enjoy your special day and that it’s full of love and happiness. The miniatures are spectacular, I’d never have the patience to do work that fine. It’s not so much the knitting/crocheting as it is the finishing and sewing up of all the small bits.

    The chickens are looking good and I love the picture of the two dogs with Alfie wrapping his arm around Freddy. Nice score on the carders I hope they clean up well for you. I visited the thrift shop today and came away with a sock loom and book for $5. I can knit socks with dpns but thought I’d give the loom a try and see how it goes. I always love a good deal.

    Have fun with your fabrics, your quilts are coming along and looking good.

    Karen

    • Aww thank you very much 😀 It’s only going to be a very quiet birthday, I prefer them like that. Just my family around me 🙂 I think it’s parents evening in my school that day too, so I’m hoping to go to that to see what it is like!
      Ahh, yeah, that’s what puts me off knitting toys, etc. The sewing up all of the bits at the end. My sewing in ends is horrendous and I think ruins it.
      Oooh, I’ve always wanted to try a loom, but haven’t seen one that I can afford yet. I fancy having a go at weaving on a square loom, but haven’t seen one yet. I’d love to see how knitting on a loom works, it looks a bit difficult!
      Have a great day 😀 xXx

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

