Hello again,

Not been too much happening here to be honest. I’ve worked every day for the last two weeks which has been really good. Some only half days but still, I love it. I was observed today during an art lesson and it went really, really well. Well, I think it went well. I kept in mind the points I had to work on from my last observation and I think I covered them all. I had a younger class and we all made Easter cards 😀 They had an egg on the front which you had to carefully cut to look like it had cracked. Inside was a chick and their notes to whomever they were giving it to. Some were amazing! Some were…. interesting! Such as… ‘To such and such, Happy Easter, see you on the xBox!’ I love working in a school 😀

Hmm, A was down here last weekend which was nice. We watched Hells Kitchen and a film called ‘The Amityville Mental Asylum’ or something to that effect. Utter nonsense and drivel. That should teach me not to choose such rubbish to watch. Or not…. Mum and I went to see some friends after we dropped A off at the station. The daughter was telling me about the exercise programme she had been doing called the ’30 Day Squat Challenge.’ Mum and I immediately decided to take part, and we are both on the 70 squats at the moment. I’ve been doing the same number of stomach crunches too. Let’s see how this goes!

She has some rats, don’t look at this picture if you are squeamish! (Please ignore how terrible I look in this photo!!!)

 

SAM_2454

I can’t remember the rats name but she was so sweet and friendly 😀 I adore rats.

Craft wise I’ve not done too much. I’ve done another couple of inches on my CAL blanket, and am loving the bright colours. It’s at the size now where no matter how much you seem to do to it, it never gets any bigger! I could do with measuring it. I’ve added some sides to my star quilt.

SAM_2455

I wasn’t too sure about the browns but I think they go together quite well. I’ve stopped there with it, and put on a brown patterned back, with the wadding from a quilt. The backing is very tight on two of the edges and doesn’t look too good. That’s rushing it for you :/ When I get back into it it might be a bit easier. I can see it with fresh eyes instead of late at night.

SAM_2433

I got a nice quilting book from Mum the other week and in it they had a bit on scrappy squares. I found the coloured cotton squares I had tucked away after the cotton square quilt and decided to use those. It took quite a bit of time making it up, and then agggges quilting it up. I wanted to use plastic thread for it but the sewing machine was just not having it. It would sew a few stitches then jam up. I changed it to white thread and voila! Working normal again.

SAM_2438

I quite like it, but I don’t think it’s something I will continue to do. Takes a very, very long time. I did three altogether.

SAM_2441

Can you guess what I made out of this little lot? Don’t laugh when you see…

SAM_2444

Pants! I saw this amazing tutorial about making your own pants and I thought, I want to try that!

http://sewing.about.com/gi/o.htm?zi=1/XJ&zTi=1&sdn=sewing&cdn=hobbies&tm=68&f=20&su=p284.13.342.ip_&tt=3&bt=1&bts=1&zu=http%3A//comeandseetheseitz.com/2010/03/09/panty-tutorial-how-to-sew-underwear/

You had to cut apart one of your own pairs to get the pattern, and then I used the elastic from them to complete mine. (I have no stretch lace elastic  😦 ). I couldn’t believe how BIG the pieces of material were! Honestly, whatever size you are when they are complete is nothing compared to what you are when the material is laid out flat! I haven’t got a picture of the finished pants yet, but I am very pleased with them. Apart from the one leg elastic, every single bit was hand sewn, which I’m proud of. You won’t catch me doing that again though! It took far too long and was very messy, haha. When I sewed it on the machine I was really pleased with it. And the best thing? They looked like proper underwear! Haha.

I’ve done a bit of spinning too. I found some luxury fibres in the cupboard so thought I would have a go spinning them.

SAM_2439

I’ve spun up the bottom left which I think is camel and silk, and I’ve done half of the camel on the bottom right. Gotta say, I didn’t actually like spinning it that much… I prefer sheeps wool to this. I love the feel of the luxury stuff, but I found drafting this quite a bit harder. Can’t wait until I can get some sheeps wool to spin.

I bought some seeds from eBay on the weekend. I bought some cotton seeds! I got some lovely looking basil seeds free which was very nice of the seller.

SAM_2459

Tonight I planted them. I think I planted 24 cotton seeds and a pinch of the basil seeds. I’m going to leave them on my windowsill as it has good sunlight there during the day. Also, cotton seeds don’t need too much water which is good for me because I tend to forget!

SAM_2460

Right, I’d better go now. I’m shattered and I’ve got work again tomorrow. Nighty night everyone!

xXx Love Kais xXx

 

2 thoughts on “

  1. The cotton seeds are interesting I’ll be looking forward to seeing if you get anything out of them. I’ve always thought of them as a warmer type of plant but I guess if you’ve got them potted you can baby them along, who knows I should go look them up in stead of making assumptions.

    Brave girl making your own underwear, I think I got as far as cutting out the pieces and gave up the one time I tried. The star quilt is looking lovely and I’ve never attempted to try and make a crazy quilt block; I don’t know why as I like the look but just too random I guess.

    So what was hard about spinning the camel/silk, just curious as I’ve never spun it before? I’m quite happy with spinning wool at the moment although I probably should try and challenge myself trying other techniques.

    Good shot with the rat but they don’t appeal to me, it’s the tail that puts me off, don’t know why it just does. Snakes don’t bother me and they are kind of scaly but there is something about the rat’s tail…

    • My Mum says exactly the same thing about rats. She hates the tails too. I find them really sweet and they are so trusting. I like a lot of animals people don’t like. I ADORE frogs, newts and toads and it’s always a happy thing for me when I see them in the garden.
      I’m not too sure what was hard about it, I think it’s just because it was so flighty and fine. I’ll have another go in a while though, maybe I was just having an off day with it.
      I bought a load more pieces today to try making the underwear again. I really enjoyed the process and who knows, I might even make some nice lacy ones, haha. I have backed the quilt and it just needs the edges sewn now, but I’m not too fussed about doing that at the moment.
      I cannot wait to see how the cotton plants grow. I didn’t think they were growing at all, so I dug in the pot a little to find the seeds and discovered a teeny tiny root growing! So excited, haha. xx

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

