It’s been a long time since I’ve written a blog post and I don’t have much of an excuse for not doing so. I feel quite demotivated at the moment which hinders my writing. Anyway, I’ve managed to gather up all my photos for a pretty long post, so here goes.

Sarah-Jane

I’m very sad to say that my beautiful girl Sarah-Jane died on Saturday 12th April. She had been absolutely fine in the morning when I went to shut them in the run as we were going to town for a few hours. I had been in a great mood when I got back and I did what I always do. I let the dogs out and I went to hop over the mesh to let the chickens out the run and I saw her.

I truly believe she had had a heart attack, but the most upsetting thing was that I found her in the water bowl. (Their water bowl is a rectangular tub). I think she had died on the spot and fallen in, but in my shock I was thinking she had drowned so I was very, very distressed about it. Her top layer of feathers was dry so she didn’t struggle, she looked like she had just fallen asleep in the water, so I’m hoping she didn’t know anything about it. The other chickens had left her alone so I’m glad about that. We buried her at the bottom of the garden with the other animals. It’s a nice spot and in the grass where she loved being. We had a very happy eight or nine months together and I’m very glad that we were able to give her the loving home she was denied at such a young age. The fact that battery chickens are still allowed disgusts me and I would love to get them all banned.

I love the above picture of Sarah-Jane. She looks very peaceful and beautiful with all her feathers. When she first came she had no back or tail feathers or front feathers to speak of.

We still have our beautiful girls Donna and Rose.

Chickens

I love my girls to bits, I really do. I think some people can’t understand how much they mean to me. Since Sarah-Jane has passed we are going to rehome another two hens. We are undecided on their names yet, but I think they will be Grace and Martha. (More Dr Who companions!) I’m excited to get some more girls. We will be getting them perhaps a day or two after they have been taken from the farms, so the poor girls will be pretty traumatised. I hope my two show them that there is nothing to be afraid of and that they will love their forever home. They will certainly be spoiled! Donna and Rose were happy when I bring them out cooled baked potatoes. I always pop an extra one or two in the oven for the girls.

We have been thinking about making a new chicken run at the bottom of the garden. Their run is great for them just now, but it hasn’t got any grass patches. I’ll show you what I mean.

Chicken Run

They have quite a big yard to be in and the whole of the side of the shed. (It’s pretty big!) They can scratch and dig around for things in the dirt and stones which they love. There is an old ladder in there and they love jumping up onto the rungs (the ladder is on its side). I enjoy watching them have dirt baths because they look so content. I’d love for them to have some grassy areas to play in and I do take them down the garden occasionally. We are thinking of turning this area into a run –

Chicken Run 2

We have a door frame already made up from when we had a chicken house years ago. I am thinking of making a squarish run with mesh all around it and on the roof. Ideally I would love to make two or three little pyramid ‘arks’ to put in the run so we could leave the chickens there all day. They would have these arks in the run so they could lie down in them, lay an egg, rest in the shade, etc. And they would have the whole of the run to play in during the day. (And it would mean I could possibly have another couple of chickens!) It’s certainly a big project! I’d even make the arks too, I’d love to do that. I’m really enjoying the whole idea of self sufficiency. (Though I couldn’t live without TV or Internet, so I don’t think TOTAL self sufficiency is my thing just yet, haha). We have a huge garden so even a large run wouldn’t take up too much room. I think it would be lovely to sit there in the summer and listen to them softly clucking away.

So, the first week of the half term holidays A and I went to Blackpool! It was our first ever holiday away together and we loved it! We bought a Big Ticket and got into six attractions for £45 each. Expensive, yes, but if we had gone into them individually it would have cost £90 each! We went to Blackpool Circus (no animals, just very clever humans!!), Blackpool Tower (wowww! I even walked on the glass floor!), Blackpool Dungeons (scary but fun!), Madame Tussauds (a wax works exhibition), Blackpool Tower Ballroom (just beautiful, I’d love to get married in here!), and the Sea Life Centre ( I could stay in here all day). We stayed at the usual Guest House my family stay in, a wonderful place. The hosts are so accommodating and lovely, and it’s like meeting old friends when we see them.

Blackpool  1

We were pretty lucky the weather was nice and bright during our stay. Look at the wonderful clean beach and the views! And yes, you may have noticed I’m standing on the edges of the glass floor and not the floor itself :p I did eventually walk across it though and do have photos as proof! The views were amazing. (Gosh, my feet are STILL tingling looking at those pictures!)  The top picture is in Madame Tussauds next to the figures of The Two Ronnies.

Blackpool2

Isn’t the ballroom just beautiful? There is always an organ playing whenever you go in. The guy plays lots and lots of music and it’s beautiful to listen to when having scones and cream and jam! I love that place.

There is A sitting in front of the figures of Andy and Lou from ‘Little Britain.’ Ever seen that? Hilarious 😀 Lou looks very upset that A dares to sit in front of his chair!

We mostly spent our time wandering in the town, around the arcades and on the pier. Oh… and that meal. We wanted to go out for a meal to finish off our holiday. Instead of rewriting about it, I’ll copy and paste the tripadvisor review. I was not a happy bunny.

My boyfriend and I wanted to go for a nice meal to round off what had been a lovely holiday in Blackpool. I had wanted to go to this place for ages. We chose what we wanted on the menu (myself – steak and ale pie with chips, peas and gravy, bf – hotdog and chips with coleslaw, mustard and sauce). We were told that there were no peas with the meal. Disappointing but ok. I would have thought they would have offered something else in place, e.g. carrots or whatever, but no. It took a very long time to arrive and when it finally did (even though there were perhaps two families in the entire place) it was luke warm at most. I literally had a handful of chips and a piece of pie on the plate and that was it. We had to go and ask for the gravy which arrived cold. My bfs meal was just as boring and came without the coleslaw! I don’t understand how such a simple meal order was not followed through. We ended up leaving most of the meal because it was awful. We will not be returning there again. 
We thought this place was like a Wetherspoons with the cheap prices, but clearly not. Wetherspoons give good, filling, HOT meals whereas this place gives the opposite. Terrible.

Ah well, the rest of the holiday was great! There is a wonderful wool shop just around the corner from the guesthouse and I always make sure its one of the first shops we go into. The first time I went in it with A he got bored VERY quickly so I just had a quick look and went back on my own later. Here is what I bought.

Purchases

I bought the stuff in the top right corner. Just some sewing bits and pieces. I also bought some teddy bear eyes and limb socket thingies. I want to try them out the next time I make a teddy. I haven’t been able to find them anywhere else and they were really cheap from this place. Urgh, why can’t this shop have a website?! No matter, I’ll stock up again later!

All the wool on the left hand side was part of a bulk deal someone was doing on FB. 50 balls of wool for £40 delivered. It did take a long time to arrive (due to lack of organisation on their side I think – but they did have A LOT of orders) but I was thrilled when I got it. The colours are better in real life. I’ve already started making an entrelac blanket with a few of the colours (one thing to tick off on my New Years list!)

WP_20140417_026

It’s a lot easier than I though. I’ve started a blue on it now, and then will be going onto dark grey. I’ll put photos up later. The middle right picture shows some very pretty fat quarters I bought from a charity shop for £1 each! Beautiful colours. I’ve no plan for them just yet but the fact they were £1 I had to buy them. And the bottom right shows the fun fur fabric I bought to make some bunny rabbits. I bought a lovely sewing pattern book from a charity shop in Blackpool and am determined to work my way through them. The pictures are beautiful. Last night I copied out the patterns onto grease proof paper, cut them out and am waiting until later to pin them together and sew them. I just need to finish making the skirt pieces for the clothes.

SAM_2745

I’m making the bunny on the bottom right. She is so pretty!

Ahhh… something I am very proud to show you next!

Dress

I made my first ever dress! I spent a long time trying to find some nice (cheap!) material to make a lovely McCalls pattern with. I found some in the local town and bought everything I needed. It took me a long time to pin out the patterns as I’m used to working with far smaller pieces. I made them seam allowance smaller (and I’m glad I did) and I made the zip bold red to match the top part of the dress. I have got buttons to go down the side of the dress but I’m not sure if I will put them on or not. I need to hem the bottom too. What do you think? Ok for a first attempt? It’s a size 12 and fits perfectly. I was so glad because I would have cried after all that work and it didn’t fit!

Fleece

I decided to get the last full fleece out from under the stairs and start working on it. It was a hot day so it was perfect. Look at the siz of the thing! I managed to get it sorted into four bags – best, middle, rough and bin. I wonder why it took me so long…

Fleece 2

The fleece was really yellow in some places but after a good hot wash it came out fluffy white. I haven’t needed to card it or anything which I’m really glad about. It just means I can start spinning straight away. I’ve spun almost a full bobbin. As I have that much I’m just spinning until two bobbins are full and then ply them together. The bobbin on the right is my attempt at spinning in the grease. It was … ok, but not something I’d particularly want to do again. I much prefer working with washed fleece.

Luxury wool

I gathered up all of my handspun wool and took a photo of it for a blog post I did for Woolmakers. If you want to read it, the link is here –

http://www.woolmakers.com/blogs/almost-year-bliss/

The last to skeins I spun are on the left. One is a silk and llama mix I THINK, and the other one is superfine camel. I hated doing the silk mix but quite enjoyed the camel one. Overall I think I much prefer working with wool than any other fibre. But I don’t know, maybe I just haven’t found the ‘right’ luxury fibre for me? But no matter because I LOVE WOOL! 😀

Ah well, I think I’ve pretty much finished the blog post for now. Just a few pictures left to round it off. 🙂

My beautiful boys. Isn’t Alfie getting bigger so quickly!

Boys

A quick picture of my gorgeous Patsy.

SAM_2736

She was enjoying time out of her cage in the hamster run. I put an old T-Shirt in there and she spent ages burrowing round in it. Fred was most puzzled seeing this old T-Shirt move!

And I know I usually finish with a picture of my baby Freddy but today I thought I would end with this. I don’t think it needs much explaining but here goes. This picture was taken in Blackpool in one of those photo machines. I’ve never done this before and it was something I always wanted to try. We got a set of two, so I took one and A took one. I love how happy we look in the photos and I always want to remember that moment. I want this photo to be something I look back on when we are both together and have grown old. I want this photo to be something our children one day see. It might sound soppy and silly but it’s just a little something special 🙂

WP_20140419_001

Anyway, I must go now. I have letters of application to write for various jobs I’m applying to. Wish me luck, I think I need it!

xXx Love Kais xXx

 

10 thoughts on “

  1. Once again, you amaze me with all of your accomplishments! But first, I have to say I’m so sorry to hear about Sarah Jane. I know just how you feel about your sweet hens, as I really love mine too. I will look forward to seeing your new rescues. 🙂 Next, that dress is amazing! I’m so impressed!!! It looks professionally made, and cute and cozy too! I’m glad you had a nice vacation in Blackpool, and that your dogs are doing well too. And lastly, your Bliss article was really great! I feel the same about my Louet. They make great wheels. 🙂

    • So glad you’re ok 🙂 Yeah, I find it hard to fit in blogging lately so I thought I would push myself and try and get it done today. I’ll try and keep up with them a little more but meh, we shall see!
      I can’t wait until we get rescues. My parents have sorted out a large part of the garden at the bottom (not the bit in the photos) that would be PERFECT. We shall see how that gets on.
      Thanks 😀 That dress wasn’t too hard to make, just slow going!
      Will love to see how you are getting on with your wheel, Louet are great wheelmakers, haha. :p

  2. So sorry that Sarah Jane is gone, at least it seems it was quick an peacefully. The loss of a bird always leaves a big empty space, and I hope the other girls and the ones to come will help fill it. Love the names btw, being a fan of the Doctor myself – who knows, maybe Sarah Jane is just out exploring the universe again.

    And congrats on your dress, I think it turned out wonderful- love the print and the red contrasts!

    • Thank you for your lovely comment! I love what you said about Sarah-Jane exploring the Universe, how sweet! 😀 I’m still waiting for a reason to where my new dress – it might be on the weekend ‘just because.’ 😀

  3. What a marvellous blog post thanks for taking the time to write it I enjoy hearing about what you’ve been up to and looking at all of the wonderful photos. Sorry to hear about your Sarah-Jane, I hope the new birds will bring you some comfort an at least you know that you gave Sarah-Jane a happy life.
    Your weekend in Blackpool sounded pretty good a bit of everything experienced, sorry your meal wasn’t that great. Nice score with the yarn and other goodies and that fleece is huge, it’ll be keeping you busy for a while yet. Seems like your experience with spinning in the grease was much like mine, I can say I’ve done it but wasn’t really thrilled with doing it. The luxury fibre looks just like what it is luxurious, it looks soft with lots of sheen to it. The article for the Woolmakers blog was very well done, I really liked the photo of you at your wheel. You did a really good job with the dress. I have to admit making clothes isn’t really one of my favourite things to do. I sewed some kids clothes when they were little but everything I tried to make for myself didn’t turn out well. I sewed my granddaughter a little dress last year and have to admit that I didn’t really enjoy it. It’s funny because I like making quilts. I liked seeing the photos of both of you. I also have a strip of pictures somewhere and it does bring back that moment in time so a nice keepsake.

    Karen

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

