Hello everyone. 

I’ve just spent the last few days going over my room and giving it a massive clear out. I have so much craft stuff it’s overflowing! I managed to sort out all of my new bits and pieces into plastic boxes which makes it so much easier to see what I have! 

I’ve really gotten into my sewing, which I adore! I bought some simple lunch box type plastic tubs a week ago – 5 for £4. I bought some more yesterday too as they are so useful. I did have all of my sewing stuff on the table and in boxes and bits, all jumbled up. Not helpful when you want to lay your hands on something quickly. I’ve got a couple of extra tubs too. 

WP_20140907_010 

Excuse the socks and cups! 

Bottom up first column. 

1 – Lace, ric rac and ribbons. 

2. Scraps and fat quarters. 

3. Paper pattern pieces. 

4. The essentials – needles, rotary cutter, scissors, tape measure, chalk, etc. 

5. Elastic reel, alphabet buttons, large beads and teddy bear items. 

6. The little dress and shoes I am working on now. (Pictures further down). 

Bottom up back column. 

7. Christmas patches ready to sew. 

8. Teddy bear pieces. 

9. WIP little hat. 

10. Bias binding and velcro. 

11. Mini rabbit pattern pieces all ready to sew. (Been months now!) 

12. Tub of elastics. 

13. (Behind) Bra and skirt fastening type things, press studs, etc. 

You can see next to all the tubs a spice rack. I’ve had this for a long time and instead of spices I use them for other little bits, like needles, buttons, rose pieces, pins, etc. It’s really useful. I’ve also sorted out some of my fabrics to fit nicely under the table.

  WP_20140907_012 

It took me ages to find wadding anywhere at a decent price. I know I can’t get everything for cheap, cheap, cheap, but some places take the mickey. I went to HobbyCraft (about 10-12 miles away) but the wadding was £6+ a metre! Nooo thanks! I’d need several metres and there was no way I was going to spend £12 on two metres of wadding. When I was next in Glasgow I went to an amazing place called ‘Remnant Kings.’ It sells the remnants of fabric on rolls as well as other pieces. Ribbons, bias bindings, buttons, etc. Some pieces are very expensive obviously, but others not so much. There are some beautiful cotton prints there. I wonder if they do half metres…? Anyway, I found the wadding and it was £3.50 a metre for the thick stuff. Perfect. I only got one metre and I’m regretting it now…. why did I only get one metre?! No matter, next time I’m there I’ll get 2/3 metres more. It’s just storing it that is the problem. Maybe a vaccuum bag would be a great purchase. 

I’ve worked on the next little dress for a week or so, on and off. I’ve made the nappy cover to match, and made it without sleeves. I think sleeves would not have looked right on it. What do you think? 

WP_20140903_006 

I didn’t buy fabric like that – I was at a car boot sale a good few months ago and they were selling packs of fabric for a pound. There was a piece the size of a bath sheet in there of all these squares someone had sewn together. I imagine someone had been trying to make a quilt. Well, I didn’t want it as a quilt so I thought it would be really sweet fabric to make a little girls dress/top out of. I found some bias binding that matched it perfectly (from my trip to the Sew and Sew!) I sewed the majority of this by hand on the train and at A’s house. (I am sooo (sew :p) going to get a sewing machine at his house. I have turned the bias binding up at the bottom and at the sleeves so it is not so sticking out. I’ll need to get a photo for you. I’m really pleased with it. (Please excuse the tissues at the side – did NOT notice that when taking the photo, grrr). 

 WP_20140907_013

As I mentioned before, my local haberdashery is closing down and when I last went in it was 60% off. I was very good and only picked up these two items. I was charged £1.40 for the lot! One whole metre of cotton in red and white stripes that will make a nice romper suit and some gorgeous black and white cotton flower fabric which I have used before. I used it to line a knitting cable pencil case. I don’t know what to make with it yet.  

WP_20140907_014 

When I was in Blackpool I bought some fabric panels and fabric books to make up. Each panel was £2.50! EACH! Usually they’re about £8+ so I got a real bargain. Two books which look sooo cute! The rest are all going to be baby quilts. 

I started on one the other night. The only thing is, I had to pin down the sides quite a bit because the wadding was just too small. It would not fold in half so I ended it being fairly thin wadding, but it can be a thin cover blanket. I got some old childrens curtains from a charity shop yesterday and the back of them had the most perfect backing for this new quilt. 

WP_20140907_015 

I really like it. I haven’t sewn up one side as I needed to turn it inside out. I’ve seen some amazing quilts where they have been sewn around different patterns on the quilt itself. It made a nice effect on the back of the quilt. I’ve tried doing it with the machine and by hand but it just isn’t working for me. It looks good on the front – 

WP_20140907_016 

– But not on the back… I’m going to unpick it and see what else I can do. I’ve found a large cross stitch hoop which will stretch the fabric out at the back so it does not bunch up as it is currently doing. Either that or I’m going to take the back off again, sew around the different pieces (adding a thin piece of cotton on the back so I’m not sewing up the wadding as it will muck up my machine) and then sew the backing back on. We shall see. 

WP_20140907_009 

For anyone who is interested, here is the book I’ve been using to do my baby tops. I got the pants tutorial from online – 

http://www.danamadeit.com/2008/07/tutorial-the-perfect-diaper-cover.html

Here are some more examples of my WIPs. 

WP_20140905_001 

I’m still, STILL working on this blanket! I love it though. A is getting a flat in a few days (Thursdayy!!!!!!) and I promised him that one day this blanket will go on our bed. I doubt very, very much that this will be finished by Thursday but I will try my best. I’ve added two inches since this photo was taken. I plan on creating another half metre or less, then a border of sc’s, hdc’s, two granny stitches, and then a wavy border. Excited! I’m so excited for him getting this new flat. I won’t be living there but I’ll be going over there lots and lots! He is going to Uni to do film and media and it’s like ten minutes from his flat. I haven’t seen it yet, but A says it’s amazing and will be perfect for us…. we shall see on Thursday. I shall cast my eye over it and see the possibilities 😀 

I bought the best ever pillow cases at a car boot sale today – soooo true! 

WP_20140907_001 

A while ago I mentioned on one of my posts that I had bought a reborn doll kit. I realised that although I finished it a good while ago I’ve not put any photos up of it at all. I know a lot of people don’t like them but I’ve had fun doing this one, and would do it again. Just a shame at the £100 + price for the kits! 

Well, her she is – I’ve called her Christina. 

WP_20140907_008 

You can’t really see any of the paint on her face which is a shame. I’ve coloured her cheeks and lips and where her eyes are so it looks shaded and blushed. She has little veins too. I was using my phone camera to take photos so there isn’t any decent close up unfortunately. 

WP_20140907_007 

I love her little hands. The feet are cute too. The dress she is wearing is a knitting and crocheted dress I made a long, long time ago – when I was in my post tonsil pain! Made with King Cole Riot yarn. Beautiful stuff! The doll is weighted so it feels like a real baby. Hmm, well, I think she is a little too heavy – everyone says she is very heavy for a baby doll. The head is weighted so it flops back, as are the bottom, the arms and legs. 

I can’t wait until I have kids! Don’t worry, I’m not one of these strange people who treat it like a baby. It’s a doll. A doll for trying on the baby clothes I knit to see how they look, and then it goes back in the cupboard! 

WP_20140907_005 

This is the finished doll. The next photo shows the rooting of the hair. This took a good, long while and I ran out of hair and needles! I did find a few of my own felting needles but they were far too big for the dolls head and rooted like ten hairs at a time, which did make a big difference. The poor doll looks baldy at the back! 

WP_20140907_006 

Grr, this photos shows none of the colouring! It looks like how I got it out of the box. How annoying, oh well. 

WP_20140907_002 

Found this old WIP languishing in some bags of wool earlier. I don’t like the yarn I’m using. I think it’s a linen blend and it’s very soft but I just don’t like the floppy way it knits up. The cardigan looks good, so I should finish it really. Only the sleeves and the button band at the front. This the main part I dislike – 

WP_20140907_003 

This is where you have to do a YO to create the sleeves. Oh well. 

Right, I’d better go now. Find something to do! I might do some more sewing. I sit in front of my bedroom window looking outside whilst I sew. It’s a beautiful view over a river at the back. You can see England from my window right at the back. 

WP_20140907_011 

Have a great night everyone! 

xXx Love Kais xXx 

4 thoughts on “

  1. That is a stunning view from your window. Love the blanket that you’re making, the colours look so vibrant in it. I adore the baby dress made out of the quilt top the colours are perfect in it and it does look good without the sleeves, you can always put a shirt on the baby to go under the dress to keep her warm.

    I might just steal your idea about the spice jar rack as I have one sitting around somewhere, actually I have two and I love my plastic bins, I have too many really but they do keep all my stuff neat and tidy. Nice scores on the fabric and I like the baby quilt. I’m working on one at the moment and unfortunately I must have forgotten to take a photo of the last one I did…so annoying not having it on record. I did manage to download the photos off of the camera by using a card reader but I don’t recall a quilt photo, oh well.

    • Thanks 😀 This blanket is taking forever, I feel that no matter how much I’m doing, I’m just not getting anywhere. I think I did perhaps 6-8 rows today so I am very slowly getting there. Tomorrow I hope to start on the border after another 8 or so rows.
      I’m glad you like the dress, it’s so girly 😀 Can’t wait to see a baby in it one day.
      The spice rack is so helpful like you wouldn’t believe. I don’t have to go searching through my sewing box for needles as they are right there in teeny jars 😀 Can’t wait to see photos of your quilts!

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

