Hello everyone,

Looking back, it looks like my last post was on the 5th of July. A few things have happened since then, so this might be a long post.

Four days after the last post I was on my way to Oxford, England. Last year some people might remember I worked for a summer camp and absolutely loved it. Four weeks of trying out things I didn’t have the opportunity to do here. Well, I was asked to do it again this year and I agreed.

I wish I could say that it was a whirlwind of a time with me learning brand new things and having new adventures. Well. . . I can’t. I loved my class towards the end and would be happy to have a class like them forever. I also liked my little room a lot and spent a bit of time there watching stuff on my laptop. My favourite part was spending time at the river at the bottom of the school and sewing, listening to my MP3 or the sounds of people going past on punts. Oh, I also enjoyed the punting. (Look it up, it’s a way of sailing).

WP_20150730_004 WP_20150730_003

Another great thing that happened was meeting up with someone I have known for almost eight years online. He came up on his motorbike (very late Alistair!!) and it was wonderful to finally meet up. We went for a coffee, then a wander round town and then a coffee again. Why we didn’t take even one photo was beyond me!?

I almost forgot. I went on the London Eye. Twice. First time was amazing! Second time I sat and crocheted the forty minutes we went round.

WP_20150720_036

Anyway, I was relieved when it finished. I had a day or so off and then I was back to work! A brand new P3 class. They have been exhausting and drive me nuts, but I love each and every one to bits. They are a vastly different class to my previous one but I don’t care. I have put up most of my displays and am looking forward to doing some Christmas art with them in a few months. Oooh hang on, Halloween stuff first!

However, I had to have three days off last week, which is virtually unheard of for me. I detest having time off school. It always makes me feel guilty for leaving others in the lurch. As it happened, two other teachers were off at the same time too. Ooops. My problem? Two burst eardrums. Yep, TWO. BURST. EARDRUMS. Painful was not the word! I left school in a hurry on Friday as my left ear suddenly went very blocked and my tinnitus shot through the roof. It started pounding and I must have been in tears the entire drive home. My Mum called the Dr who simply told me to take Ibruprofen and that it would go away soon. Well, I did, grudgingly. (Long story). It did go away, and it worked really well! Until the early morning. The pain restarted and nothing stopped it. I had to call NHS24, who got me an out of hours appointment. The Dr there gave me Tramadol and said that if it starts to hurt again I was to call NHS24 again. He told me that my ear drum had a hole in it and that my ear was leaking pus from the pressure build up. (For those not in the UK, NHS24 is an helpline who can give you medical advice and if neccessary provide ambulances and appointments for those in need. It frees up calling 999 if it is not an emergency yet you still need help). It was ok for most of the night, until I started being sick. I lasted until the next day where every single movement made me throw up. It was a real struggle getting out of bed. I called NHS24 again, who gave me another appointment. I took two steps out my front door before being sick, as it was such a struggle. I’m amazed I wasn’t sick in the car, but I was as soon as I got out at the hospital! (Sorry for TMI!)

The Dr there gave me antibiotics and saw that my other ear was leaking and she said that it had burst too. The tinnitus was driving me crazy. It felt like my head had been smacked between two saucepans and the result ringing was insane. I was assured this would go down. She gave me tablets for the sickeness too. As soon as I got outside her office I was vomiting again (thankfully she gave me a sick bowl beforehand!). She led me to a side Dr’s room and gave me an anti-sickness injection – in my bum cheek! Haha. I tell you what though, it worked. Sickness gone instantly. That is amazing stuff, lol. I was able to sleep  until she came back.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I went very deaf for a while so had to take time off work to recover from the sleep deprivation and to get my hearing back. I can hear almost properly now, just my left is still a bit deaf.

Ok then, let’s get to the fun and interesting stuff!

chicken sweater

 I know this looks a bit strange on Grace, but this is her little chicken jacket, all ready for the Winter. She is losing a lot of feathers at the moment. I know chickens moult, but she is looking a bit too bare! I am going to make one each for Rose and Martha too. It’s a very simple crochet pattern, with spaces for her wings so that she can still spread her wings and stretch. She wasn’t too happy about it for the first minute, but absolutely fine after that! Pecking away at the grass and scratching in the dirt. I think when all three of them are wearing them, they will be fine together. I half used a pattern from online but modified it heavily. I will put it on here if anyone is interested.

WP_20150919_012

I tried it out using fabric from my stash but made it far too big. I think it is a big too thick for them though. Oh well, when I have finished we shall see. I think the crocheted one is better for them though as the neck is a lot more free.

WP_20150919_013

You can see on this one where I have tried shortening it. If I have a little bit of time tomorrow I’ll finish this off. Pattern is my own and I just used what was in my fabric stash. I’m pleased with it.

WP_20150919_014

This is one batt of North Ronaldsay wool. I’ve been wanting to spin this for ages. I have one batt here and one still on the carder. It took me ages to get the first batt like this as it is so neppy and bitty. On the second pass of the fibre I did it really slowly, picking out nepps as I went. I hope to get this finished tomorrow. Can’t wait to get it spun up! I have some Manx Loughtan I desperately want carded too, and some Hebridean!

When sorting through some boxes of old projects and yarn from under my bed, I found loads of unfinished bits and pieces. Mittens that were not sewn up, pieces without buttons, etc. I gathered them up and finished them off. Some of the things you are about to see were in the start of my knitting days and some were not knitted until about four + years ago!

WP_20150919_015

I did the little socks a month or so ago, sewing on some lace and extra ribbons and bits. I really like them. That’s got me wondering where the fabric roses I bought have disappeared to…

WP_20150919_018

I’m not a fan of the little white vest on the left but I’ll finish that eventually. I love the little red and yellow booties though. The yellow top is the first clothing item I ever crocheted. And the socks at the top are the first baby socks I’ve knitted too. The hat on the bottom right is made from a bamboo and silk mix. Very nice and cool 🙂

Right, I have a few more things to show, such as my quilt and my busy books I’ve been working on. But, this blog post is over 1400 words now, so it might be a bit much all in one! Hopefully I will be able to get back to more wool and crafty things to blog about. I miss my crafting so much!

Hope everyone is well!

xXx Love Kais xXx

2 thoughts on “

  1. Poor you the infected ears sounded horrible, stupid of the doctor to tell you to take ibruprofen and everything would be alright. I don’t understand that, if you’re home and in pain from your ears it’s obvious you’ve got an ear infection, why would taking pain killers help, it makes no sense at all. He should have told you to come into the office and have them looked at. Again being given pain reliever when you’ve got pus oozing out of your ears doesn’t make sense either aside from the pain relief. It was clear you needed antibiotics to clear up the infection. Something like that is given antibiotics right away over here, in fact all you have to have is the slightest bit red and the doctor usually prescribes something. It’s no wonder you were sick as your balance is connected to your ears, glad that you are feeling better what a horrible thing to have gone through. When you have kids and they tug on their ears make sure the doctor gives them antibiotics right away. Kids are always getting ear infections.

    The chickens are a riot and what a clever way to keep them warm. I quite like the crocheted coats and they look like they fit them well from what I can see in the picture.

    The batt looks interesting, I did a bit of spinning today with some Shetland I combed. There were a few nepps in there but I spun it up regardless, I don’t really care if the yarn is a bit bobbly I figure it’s the ‘rustic’ look.

    I’m afraid of heights so I’m not sure I’d ever go up in the eye but I guess it’s an experience being up so high. I’ve seen it from the ground though last time I visited.

    The items you finished off look really good for being first time projects 🙂

    • My ears are feeling much better now. It’s so amazing to me to not feel deaf! I’ll never take my hearing for granted, that’s for sure. I am very surprised though, how quickly I recovered after it though. Yeah, I suffered from lots of ear infections when I was little so I can see that happening when I have kids! I am so pleased with the fit of the chicken jackets! They really are literally ‘made for them!’ Grace is not too amused with one, but it’s her I originally made them for, so she is having one!
      I’m looking forward to seeing your spinning, Shetland is so beautiful. I have some Shetland fleeces in my shed at the moment, gorgeous black and mixed coloured ones. No wonder I am only allowed to go to Woolfest once a year!

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

