Hello everyone,

It’s been quite a nice weekend. It’s so nice to just be able to get on with what I want to do for a change and not have to go anywhere or rush about. I adore being at the fiances house, but sometimes it’s nice not to rush about for the train on a Sunday afternoon.

Lovely, relaxing morning was how I spent my first part of the day. Watching ‘Z Nation’ with Mum on the sofa. I completed almost an entire new chicken jacket for Martha. I used some acrylic chunky and a size 5mm hook. I’ve decided I’m going to write the pattern up and put it on Ravelry. It will go alongside my other pattern – Crochet Baby RattleWP_20150920_002[1]

Doesn’t she look smart?! Martha let us put her jacket on really easily. She fluffed her feathers up a bit and then just got on with what she was doing. Grace is not a fan of her jacket so I don’t know how this will work when it is below freezing. I tried it on Rose and she was not bothered by it either. Maybe I need to modify the collar of the jacket for Grace to make it a bit more comfortable around her neck.

Here is Rose showing off her new look 🙂

WP_20150920_025[1]

As you can see in the next photo, they can do exactly the same things as they do without jackets.

WP_20150920_030[1]

I only let them wear them for ten minutes to get used to them then took them off. They then all squeezed into the same dirt bath together which was sweet. I love my girls.

Sadly, some of you might notice that there are only three girls there, and not four. My beautiful, beautiful Donna died in July, whilst I was away at summer camp. Donna was really special to me. I remember the first time I saw her and how she behaved. Such a bossy madam who clucked loudly and rubbed her beak against the wire mesh if we didn’t let her out quick enough. She kept the others in check and wasn’t afraid of anything. We found her on the roof of the shed once! (We have no idea how the heck she managed that as her wings are trimmed on one side!) If there was even the slightest chance of her escaping, she would do it. Donna the Escape Artist. I’m glad that she was given a chance at having a happy life with my family after her dreadful start. I just wish that it had been a lot longer. She died of old age, in her sleep. I’m happy that she was loved and well fed and nothing was expected of her but to be happy. She wasn’t ‘just’ a chicken to me, she was family.

I miss you so much, Donna. Hope you are back with Sarah-Jane now. Love you both.

WP_20150418_008

Today I had a look at the amount of fleeces in my shed. There were a lot! Lots of my Zwartbles to get rid of and I think five of my own personal fleeces to get through. I have a net bag of North Ronaldsay fleece that I washed before I went to summer camp. I have been waiting for a good time to get it done, and today was the day! NR fleece seems a bit special to me as my parents used to have these sheep in the Orkney Islands. They eat seaweed and would be let out on the beaches. It seems an idyllic life. I have baby photos of me feeding the lambs from a bottle. I long for the day I can have a small cottage with a huge back garden. I’m going to have some pet sheep, lots of chickens (named after the Prisoner Cell Block H characters!) and lots of space to grow vegetables. Well, a girl can dream, right? Anyway, I digress.

WP_20150919_014

I carded one batt yesterday and it seemed to take a loooong time! The fleece was full of bits and needed two goings through the carder. First one quickly, second one slowly, taking time to get rid off all the little bits and pieces that gathered, including the annoying neppy bits!

Today I took the time to fluff up all the fleece beforehand and then fed it into the carder, rather than fluffing, feeding, etc. It went a bit quicker that way.

WP_20150920_054[2]

These seven large batts make up one small North Ronaldsay fleece.

WP_20150629_004

I’ve got three more to just put through the carder the second time. I’m really looking forward to spinning this all up properly. No idea what to make with it though! I’m thinking of a DK thickness to make a lap blanket, but we shall see.

I have a gorgeous looking Manx Loughtan fleece to card up next. Such beautiful colours.

Anyway, I have work tomorrow and it’s getting late. Hope you all have a great week!

xXx Love Kais xXx

2 thoughts on “

  1. Sorry to hear that your Donna died but at least she had a happy life with you. The batts look wonderful and they are going to be such a pretty colour when they are spun up. Your carder must make bigger batts than mine. I did look at your style of machine but ended up getting the Hero because it was so much cheaper and because I was getting the Bliss at the same time the shipping was free but I do regret having such a small carder. It does get the job done though.

    • Yes, I miss her like crazy but I’m glad she had a good life with me before she finally passed away. She was one of a kind and will certainly be remembered. ❤
      I have managed to spin up a whole bobbin and a half so far and am looking forward to getting it all done. I could certainly do with some more bobbins. I love my Classic Carder. You can cram quite a bit of fleece onto it. Yep, you're right, even though it is smaller it gets done! I love the look of the Hero and the way it matches. It was my first choice but Woolmakers was closed for the holidays when I was going to order it. So I chose the Classic Carder. 🙂

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

