Crocheted Chicken Jacket

WP_20150920_002[1]

I designed this small chicken jacket after looking at my three beautiful chickens. One of them, Grace, is currently losing a lot of feathers and I’m worried about her warmth in Winter. I did a bit of research online and saw that some people have made little jackets for their girls.

I know that some people do not like them and think they are a waste of time. I, however, think that they are a good idea. Many an ex-battery hen would be glad of the warmth of one of these jackets when they are finally set free. I’m not going to say much about battery hens but the way they are treated is despicable. I’m willing to do everything I can to make life a little bit easier and warmer for these brave, beautiful girls.

WP_20150314_002[1]

Here is (top left) Martha, (top right) Donna, (bottom left) Rose and (bottom right) Grace. Donna is no longer with us, but she was a fine example of a happy, contented, bossy, cheeky, happy chicken.

Anyway, this is my version of a crochted jacket. I have taken ideas from other patterns, but modified them quite heavily.

You will need – 

5mm crochet hook (US 8)

Chunky yarn. I’ve not measured it exactly, but I would say a 100g ball would manage two jackets,

DC stitch (Wrap yarn over hook, insert into next stitch, wrap yarn over hook, pull hook through, yarn over, pull through two stitches, yarn over, pull through last two stitches).

WP_20150920_025[1]

Pattern – Suitable for medium breed chickens. 

Chain 31.

Row 1 – DC into third stitch from end. DC all the way across. Chain 2.

Rows 2 – 7 – DC across, chain 2.

Row 7 – DC 6, chain 12, (skip 12 stitches) DC rest of the way across, chain 2.

Row 8 – DC across.

Row 9 – DC across to the last three. DC 2 in third from end, DC 2 in second from end, DC 1 in last stitch. Chain 2.

Row 10 – DC 1, DC2 in next two stitches, DC to end.

Row 11 – DC across to final 5 stitches. DC2tog in stitch 5 and 4, DC2tog in stitch 3 and 2, DC in last. Chain 2.

Row 12 – DC1, DC2tog in next two, DC2tog in next two, DC across to end. Chain 2.

Row 13 – DC across, chain 2.

Row 14 – DC in next 12 stitches, chain 12, (skip 12 stitches), DC 6, chain 2.

Row 15 – 21 – DC across, chain 2.

Fasten Off.

12086804_10207907959483204_334282421_n

If you look carefully at the picture, you can see the wing holes are closer to the right hand side. This is where you will attach the yarn to at the bottom.

1 – DC 12 across, chain 2.

2 – DC 12 across.

Put right sides of jacket together and using the crochet hook, sc the short piece to 12 stitches on the other side. This creates the wide neck opening. Turn the right way again.

12048489_10207907959003192_152404723_n

Sew in all the ends tightly so the chickens cannot peck at them or pull them.

12087513_10207907959763211_1247363355_n

This is what the jacket will look like when complete.

It can be a bit strange for the chickens wearing this for the first time, but they get used to it super quickly. Be gentle and it will fit them nicely. Just ensure that their wings are completely free and they can flap and fold them properly.

This can be adapted by making the wing holes longer and more or fewer rows in the body.

WP_20150920_030[1]

I am not affiliated with, but I absolutely love and will highly recommend ‘Homes for Hens.’

Homes for Hens

They rehome hens all over Dumfriesshire and the borders. If you are around here and have room for a few hens, give them a call. You won’t regret it 🙂 When I get a house and garden of my own, my fiance and I will have lots of rescue chickens.

You can find hen rescue centres all over the UK, and I imagine you can find them in other countries too.

If you make any, I would love to see some photos. Any questions? Just ask.

Martha posing for the camera 😀

WP_20150920_048[1]

Good (c)luck!

xXx Love Kais, Martha, Rose and Grace xXx

11 thoughts on “Crocheted Chicken Jacket

    • Hey! I’m so glad that you liked it! Can I add your photo to the chicken jacket pattern page? Yes, sure, you can make the video! Can you make sure it is credited to me with a link to my blog and Ravelry page?
      I’m in the middle of creating a spinning/knitting/crochet website, so I will put your video up on there too.
      Anything else you want to know, don’t hesitate to ask or get in touch.
      Thanks!

  1. This is super adorable! Who’d have thought chickens could wear little jackets? I guess in Australia, cold weather isn’t something we worry too much about. I can see now that I live in New York that this would be very helpful in the US in winter!

    • I’m glad you like it! They fit them really well and I know a few people have made them already. I love my girls ❤ a little more compassion for the plight of chickens and it would be a nicer world. ❤ thanks for looking on my blog!

  2. Martha is adorable! I still remember the fad of knitting jumpers for penguins, this made me wonder which came first (much like the question about the chicken and the egg) 😀

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

