Hi everyone, new year, new resolutions!

I hope everyone had a happy, fun-filled Christmas and you got everything you wished for. I had a lovely Christmas at home with family.

Ok, I’ve been looking back over my blog, and disappointingly, my last post was on the 18th October. I have been so busy (I’m a teacher, for those who don’t know) that I just have been too tired to do pretty much anything in the evenings. That is going to change. I have joined a short blogging course that will hopefully get  me back into stride. For those who don’t know me, or have never visited my blog, I am aiming to just give a little insight into why I write what I do and who I am.

Let’s get started!

1378075_10202233582027314_2092421211_n (2)

I’m Kais and this is me demonstrating spinning. If you had said to me at the start of that year that I would be demonstrating how to spin in October, I would have laughed in your face. I didn’t even own a spinning wheel then. Since the start of 2013 I feel I have changed a lot. I am almost ravenous in trying out new crafts and finding out new things in the world of fibres.

I love anything to do with wool. I had read up on countless blogs and internet pages to bulk up my knowledge and give me the courage to try out my own things. I decided that it would be a good idea to put up my thoughts and ideas online just as others had done. I’ve always knitted and when I finished University, I needed something to do between jobs.

Once I felt like I got as far as I could with knitting, I wanted to go back, how was the wool actually made? Was every piece of yarn from a sheep? How could I make my own wool? When I mastered that with a drop spindle, I went further and got a spinning wheel. I went further back still and started preparing raw fleece, straight from the sheep! My dream now would be to go back even further and shear the sheep myself! Further back I would like to have my own smallholding, with sheep, goats and lots and LOTS of rescue chickens!

Then I thought, hang on, the yarn is different colours… so I got into dyeing. I got a drum carder and started creating my own coloured batts to spin.

This blog is for me to keep a good photographic record of what I have achieved and how I have done it. It allows others to see how I have done something and hopefully encourage them to make their own way in the crafting world. I am proud to say that I have helped others with their questions, just like I once asked others a while ago.

I feel that I am still on the right track for my blog, and have been happy with what I achieved with it last year. I have put up two free crochet patterns (which I am very proud of) and it helps me to revisit if I am struggling with something that I did before.

I’ve been looking at how I can further my involvement in the fibre community. I have started my own website, all to do with spinning, knitting, crochet, etc. It will probably not be up and live until the summer but I plan on doing it bit by bit.

Here are some screenshots.

I’ve learned a lot since doing this website and hope it will be helpful to those starting out.

I have also been working on my feather and fan blanket –

WP_20160104_001[1]

Anyway, I hope this is a quick insight into why I write what I do.

Have a great day everyone,

xXx Love Kais xXx

Ooops, almost forgot to add – if anyone is interested, I run a crafts group on Facebook and you are VERY welcome to join! See you there!

Empress Spinning on Facebook.

9 thoughts on “

    • My crafts group on Facebook? I like putting up tutorials and photos of what I am doing, etc. Everybody can do that. I encourage people to put up photos of what they are making and what they have made and we chat about arts and crafts. It’s a friendly group and we all support one another. Happy New Year to you too!

  1. Hi Kais, I’ve been on holiday and missed some of your blog posts. That’s a lovely picture of you spinning and all those goodies on the table beside you look good as well. Your blanket is turning out really well I like the colours you’ve chosen.

    Karen

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

