Ok, I have a problem. I’ve never had this problem before. In the fibre community, I think this problem is called ‘Startitis.’

It’s quite scary. Most of my knitting and fibery life I’ve been quite good at working on only one thing at a time, maybe two at a push. This year I don’t know what has been up with me!

What I am working on – 

  • Old Harry’s Game blanket (admittedly, this is barely started, but I have all the designs done and all the wool bought for this). I am so excited to get this blanket started. There are nine designs to go on this blanket (only four shown below). I have some backing fabric to go on too, if I think it needs it. I don’t think I’ve sewn fabric to wool before, so I’ll see how I feel about doing that.

WP_20160215_004WP_20160214_003

  • Attic24 Log Cabin blanket. I saw this on her blog and thought ‘WOW!’I NEED to make this. I bought the yarn a month or so ago and started straight away. I have made all sixteen of the middles and completed two and a bit squares. It’s quite time-consuming but I’m enjoying it, bit by bit. The squares do look a bit rough but I’m hoping a severe blocking will make it go the way it should.

WP_20160221_003

  • I’ve just started a new knitted blanket with some chunky yarn I bought from Mrs Johnsons Emporium, Blackpool. (Check this place out, it is AMAZING!). I haven’t got a photo yet but the pattern is Breezy Baby Blanket. I am using Autumn colours, orangey ones. I am using Special by Stylecraft with the colours ‘Spice,”Gold,’ and ‘Copper.’ The pattern uses the ‘Seafoam stitch’ which is very interesting. I’ve never tried it before this blanket . I like the way it is knitting up though. I am working it in stripes. I doubled the amount of stitches to make a big blanket but when it came to the seafoam stitches I could see it wasn’t going to work, I had six stitches left over. I sort of threaded them through with spare yarn and left them at the side. When I am finished this HUGE project I will cut it off and sew it properly. So, if you do this, make sure that you leave off six stitches at the end. (246 stitches).The photo below is not mine but it is from free images online. The yarn is very close to what I am using.

seafoam-5

  • The Wonder Crochet Blanket CAL. This CAL comes out every two weeks so the next one is out on the 7th April. I have caught up completely with one blanket so have just got half of part five and the whole of part six to complete on the other blanket. I thought that people who had started two or more were mad but I can see they were quite right! The six or so rows work up quickly. By the end of the year I will have two lovely blankets completed.

5678_10209134443144529_5737713757539144439_n

  • TAAT Socks (Two-At-A-Time). I bought this sock yarn from the Glasgow SECC a few weeks ago. I had been looking for some nice sock yarn for a while now. I’ve always made socks with a DK weight yarn so I’ve been after some ‘proper’ sock yarn for a while – 4ply. I’ve not done too much admittedly, it’s more of a handbag project. Here I am knitting in Wetherspoons in Blackpool the other day. (Check out Blackpool, it’s an awesome place!).

SOCKS

This is the pattern I am using – Basic Socks

I love TAAT socks. I might try using it for baby socks next time. I have my go to pattern i use for baby socks, so I might try it with that.

I think that that is it just for now for projects I am working on. I haven’t counted any sewing projects in with this lot though!

It was my birthday the other day so my Mum took me to Blackpool for a long girly weekend. It was great fun! I bought some more chunky yarn (for the Autumn banket above) from the yarn shop just around the corner from the B and B. I also got some cheap acrylic from the pound shop (2 for 3 on baby yarns). But the best place to get things from?? The Works. Ever heard of this place? In the UK it is a cheapish craft and book shop. You can often buy the same books as Waterstones but at a fraction of the price. (Waterstones is a huge book shop selling books at retail prices. I very rarely buy from there!) I chose some books from there and my Mum and brother bought them from me. I think I got over £100 worth of books for less than £20! I like a good bargain and so do my family!

12799404_10209189056069818_8675834015746242199_n

There are loads of patterns I want to do in the baby knitting and crochet books. The sewing books are also excellent. ‘My Rag Doll’ seems to have mixed reviews online however and it is said that it is not for beginners. I still consider myself a beginner so I will see how it turns out!

Have a great day everyone, it’s beautifully sunny and warm here in Scotland today!

xXx Love Kais xXx

 

2 thoughts on “

  1. Happy belated birthday wishes Kais I believe I was in Brisbane at that point 🙂 Your projects all look wonderful and you’ve got quite a few on the go just make sure you don’t go crazy and try to get them all done at once. I did that with a crochet blanket and took out my shoulder with repetitive strain, it’s never been the same since and now I don’t crochet. Mind you you’re young and heal quicker so maybe it won’t affect you the same way. Nice score on the books I do love a good bargain especially when it’s books 🙂

    • Thanks! I love the books but not made anything from them just yet – too much going on! Yes, I find my hands do ache a little when I crochet too much, or if I am purling whilst knitting. 😀

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

