‘Quick and Easy Patchwork’ by Claudia Schmidt – Book Review

Hey everyone,

I received an excellent book in the post from Searchpress Arts and Crafts. You can find them here. They are an independent book company with some absoutely fantastic books in print. I was asked to write an honest review in return for one of their books. I did not get paid for this.

You can read the Amazon review here. I will also be putting it here with some pictures of my findings. I also particularly like this one because the author is from near Cologne, Germany – one of my most favourite places in the world!

I am always on the lookout for new and interesting books in the sewing field and this one did not disappoint. ‘Quick and Easy Patchwork’ by Claudia Schmidt is well designed with hundreds of simple, clear illustrations and well presented tutorials.

WP_20160422_002

Unlike some other books full size templates are included, eradicating the need to photocopy and enlarge them.

WP_20160422_003

Although this book is aimed at more of a beginner level I would recommend it for people of all abilities. Each project is designated a difficulty level from ‘quick and easy’ to ‘more challenging.’ What sets it aside from other sewing books is that there is not an abundance of cushion and pillow covers, but other useful items such as a make-up bag, a wall-tidy and even a beautiful cutlery roll.

WP_20160422_004

Each project has a materials list and a cutting guide list making cutting out the pieces nice and simple. My favourite pattern is the e-reader cover and I have fabric already cut out and ready to sew. Most of these patterns have been designed for the machine sewer in mind, but there is no reason why they cannot be hand-sewn. 

WP_20160422_005

Personally, I would have preferred all of the templates to have a seam allowance included but this can be easily included during the pattern tracing. This book would be a colourful, useful addition to any crafters bookshelf. 10/10 for the lovely, full-colour photographs and ease of instructions.

WP_20160422_006

It is a very sweet book and very colourful, so I would recommend it to anyone just starting out in sewing, or anyone interested in doing something a bit different.

Have a wonderful day!

xXx Love Kais xXx

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

