Hello,

It’s been a relaxing, but busy day today. I’ve enjoyed just getting on with bits and pieces and sorting out stuff.

In my last post I mentioned that I had started some Christmas squares to make into a blanket. I had completed three full ones and yesterday I started the fourth one. I finished it this morning and did the complete white border with hdc border around that. What do you think?

WP_20160425_003

I can’t decide which square is my favourite. Which one is yours? The gingerbread man was my first C2C square and I really enjoyed it. Each one has a border of SC around it in the background colour, then the cream, then a HDC border. There are sooo many ends to sew in at the back! They are actually quite big, I’ll have to measure them. I am really pleased with how I have sewn them up. It looks really neat, and this makes such a difference in the overall blanket.

WP_20160425_004

I am going to do a strip at the top that spells out ‘Merry’ in sparkly red yarn, and one that says ‘Christmas’ at the bottom with the same glittery red yarn. I hope to get it done by this Christmas anyway!

I didn’t design the pictures, but they are really, really simple to do. I have so many ideas for C2C crochet blankets, one involving chickens!

I had a bit of a mad moment this afternoon and suddenly decided that I was desperate to see what fleeces I had in the shed! I got a bit of a shock!

WP_20160425_016

I think that’s a fair few – maybe 15? (And still inside the shed, can you see?) Amazingly, I didn’t actually count them. Perhaps too shocked? Most of them were Zwartbles fleeces. Such lovely, thick, dark fleeces. I skirted and sorted the ones which were not in the pillow cases. In the shed, if it is in a pillow case it is ready to be washed. Easier than having a million different bags all over the place. The pillowcases were 10p each from a charity shop. I found a beautiful black Shetland fleece, a white Shetland fleece, a chunky white fleece (can’t remember the name) and some other bits and pieces. I found a small bag of washed fleece, Manx Laughtan I THINK, which I brought into the house to spin.

Inspector Grace and Inspector Rose looked round the shed to make sure it was all ok to proceed with the fleece sorting –

WP_20160425_006

And more inspecting outside –

WP_20160425_012

I managed to get Mum to come and help me with the fleece sorting too. Dad has got wise and ran off before I could get him to help too! He helped me with loads before so I’ll let him off this time, haha.

WP_20160425_019

These Zwartbles fleeces completely cover the table. They are HUGE!

A neat(ish) pile of sorted fleece –

WP_20160425_021

Mum managed to put them in the shed, nice and neatly tucked away. Who knows, might get some washed the next hot day!

After all that working with the fleece, I fancied doing some spinning. I had some half finished alpaca that desperately needed doing. It must have been half spun for almost two years. This was a very quick spin and in no time at all I had some singles spun –

WP_20160425_027

Which in turn made some gorgeous DK plyed yarn. No idea what to make with it but I’ve decided to buy some more alpaca fibre from the Wingham Wool stand when I am at Woolfest. LOVE that stand!

WP_20160425_028

I have a whole bag of alpaca yarn to wash and spin up. I don’t think I will dye it. I might card it into rolags using my blending board.

I also found the purple mixed Merino blend I bought when I was in Germany so started spinning that. I am trying to do it super thin so it gives a 4ply effect. I felt like I had been spinning for ages when I took a photo of this tiny amount! I will take my time with it though, all I ever seem to do is  DK so this will hopefully be a fingering weight or a 4ply weight.

WP_20160425_029

I love this picture of Freddy. Soo0 relaxed!

WP_20160425_001

Anyway, I had better go now, it’s getting late here! Sleep well everyone.

xXx Love Kais xXx

5 thoughts on “

  1. What a collection of lovely fleece – and what a lot of work/fun to turn it into yarn – or will you use some for felt. I’ve been trying to use my stash of yarn before Woolfest (can’t wait! ) and I can weave quicker than knit so it’s scarves instead of socks for family presents. I love to readabout all your crafts. It’s snowing and blowing up here in Moray so a good excuse to stay in and craft.
    Best wishes, Mo

    • I have been trying to use up quite a bit of my stash too, where else am I going to put my new purchases, right? Thanks for reading my blog, I try and make it interesting! I would love to get my Dryad Loom out of the shed and get some weaving done. I just look at the work that needs done to get it ready first and cringe! Haha. It’s not snowing here yet, but I imagine it might soon as it seems to be getting cooler by the minute! Best wishes ❤

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx

