Hi everyone,

It is now just under five weeks until Woolfest! Sooo excited! I am pretty much only going to buy raw fleece I think, and one extravagent purchase – a new drop spindle. I am hoping to buy one from Spin City. Her spindles are beautiful, pretty, glittery and oh, so many words to use!

I’ve been busy with my fibre again and am happy with what I have done so far. I still have a huge bag of Zwartbles to card and a white Shetland. Maybe if I have a bit of time on the weekend I will try and get it done. A good few hours of carding might build up my arm muscles a bit.

What do you think of this lovely Gotland?

WP_20160503_010

I bought this at Woolfest last year – 500g I think.

It went through the carder twice. Here it is on the first round.

WP_20160503_011

Look how lovely and wavy it is! I opened all the locks out by hand, it took sooooo long! Def. a bit of TV watching whilst that went on. I got five batts out of this fleece.

WP_20160508_002

This is fluffed up lamb Hebridean. I got a small 200g bag from Woolfest last year too. I’ve always been a bit wary of Hebridean but this one was lovely when washed. Unfortunately I got rid of about half of it whilst prepping it due to second cuts, etc. But I have got three batts out of it.

 

WP_20160508_007

This is the unknown brown fleece that I found tucked under the stairs. It felt VERY dry but carded up really well. I got three batts from this. I’m REALLY looking forward to spinning this one.

WP_20160508_009

Alpaca! Even with the amount I washed I still have been getting rid of about half of what I take out of the bag. In future, I will not cheap out and buy seconds alpaca. As you can see I have made some rolags out of it. I filled the box and when spun it gave me a heavy, packed bobbin on my Bliss. So, I imagine another box will give me a full bobbin again and I can get perhaps two decent skeins out of it. Even with the washing there is so much dirt coming off it! My hands are left black at the end of it, haha. My blending board has been getting some decent use out of it lately.

WP_20160509_001

This picture makes me very happy! I fancy taking some decent photos outside though, this picture is a bit blurry. I imagine this will be a lot bigger when I have carded the rest of the fleeces.

I also fancied doing some more dyeing. I used kool-aid again and used the white Shetland as soon as I finished washing it. I didn’t wait for it to dry, just put it straight in. I also left it all curled up instead of carding it, as I want the fleece to get a mix of colours, not just one solid colour.

WP_20160508_011

I pushed as much fleece into each bowl as possible. Each bowl got several minutes in the microwave, the dark dyes getting longer. The red ones were nearly impossible to get the water to run clear. When I spin it, I will have to give the red skeins an extra rinse. I didn’t rinse these in the washing machine, but left them to dry outside. I loved the colours the pink lemonade dye gave.

WP_20160510_001

My little work station at the side of the kitchen. My lovely dried, dyed fluff. Each colour made a decent sized batt.

WP_20160510_003

They were very easy to card. I decided to use a diz for the first time on my carder and made roving properly. I was so impressed with how easy and effective this is! Why have I not done this before?!

WP_20160510_007

Most of them I managed to get done with just one ball of roving.

WP_20160510_004

I spun up the pink one in the photo. Small skein, but sweet.

WP_20160510_008

Lots and lots of fleece! I still can hardly believe that this was from a manky Shetland fleece!

WP_20160516_001

I got this little machine at a charity shop in Ayr. It looks complete. It is a Simple Frame Knitter, made in the early eighties. It looks brand new! I can’t wait to try it out properly, but I’ve left it at A’s for now. I had too much luggage to carry back this time.

I’ve also done a bit more on my CAL. I have sooo much to catch up on!

WP_20160519_001

Well, the next bit of this post is a bit sad. My lovely Martha died a few weeks ago. She was getting on a bit and not really eating a lot. (Except cucumber, she LOVED it). She had plenty of cuddles towards the end and died in her sleep. I miss her a lot and it’s not the same seeing five chickens when there should be six. Love you, Martha. ❤ This is one of my favourite photos of her. Beautiful girl.

12985410_10209374432984125_5422030959288727916_n

This post is dedicated to my wonderful dog, Ben. On the 11th May this year, it was six years since he has been gone. There is not a day going by where I don’t feel like something is missing from my life. He was a wonderful companion and friend. He was taken far too soon and if he were alive today he would still have many more years to go. I miss you so much, Ben. I hope you are happy with your best friend, Bo, who was also taken almost exactly two years after you. I love you and miss you loads too, Bo. Words can’t really describe how much I want to see and cuddle them again. Maybe one day I will. ❤

WP_20160511_001

Ben – 2004 – 11.5.2010

184787_1891844542163_4054214_n

Bo – 2003 – July 2012

xXx Love Kais xXx

One thought on “

  1. Somehow I missed this post sorry about that, I’ve just noticed the Notify underneath so hopefully now I’ll see your posts when you blog them. I’m also sorry to hear about Martha passing on and your dogs as well 😦

    Love the fleece and oh the Gotland is so nice as well as the dyed batts you made, they look so soft and fluffy like they’ll spin up smoothly. I’m not sure whether or not you’ve been to Woolfest yet but I’m looking forward to seeing what you purchase 🙂

    I’ve dizzed off of the carder, it takes a bit to get used to it but then it goes smoothly from there. I’ve been dizzing off of my wool combs lately. Washed up another batch of fleece today and had considered dyeing them in the pot like you did after washing them but I dried the fleece instead because I’m not sure what colours I want to dye with.

    Karen

xXx Do leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you! xXx